Book Review, Tina Reber

Love Unscripted

I just completed a book that was highly recommended to me by a friend. We have both been on a huge reading kick…for me, this was brought on when I finally decided to see what the hype was about regarding the Fifty Shades trilogy. Since completing that series, I find myself wanting to read more and more. I have been captivated by so many books as of late, that I decided to share my humble opinion on them.

The latest addition to my stash of recently completed books is Love Unscripted by Tina Reber. The story follows the whirlwind romance of Ryan (a huge celebrity a la Robert Patinson) and Taryn (a local bar owner).

When I decided to read this story, it was based on the synopsis that was provided through Good Reads. I try not to read reader comments on any books that I am thinking about reading because I do not want to have a preconceived notion. I want to form my own opinions and if it keeps me engaged, I’ll read it, if not, I have no problem putting it down. But, I have to say, I am so glad that I checked this one out!

The movie that played in my head while I read the book was amazing. I am familiar with Rhode Island, so it was easy to picture just about everything. The details Mrs. Reber described, from the cars and apartment to Taryn’s pub were enough to create vivid images, but at the same time, were not so overdone that I skimmed sections to get to the meat. I cared about these characters and found the dialog and the love story to be both real and natural.

I truly found myself in their relationship, the roller-coaster and insecurities that both Ryan & Taryn shared, left me with knots in my stomach. I laughed out loud during their Thanksgiving visit to Ryan’s family home, because the banter flowed and quite frankly, it was something I could see happening in my own family. I cried, laughed and cheered for these characters all the way to the end. I cannot wait to read Mrs. Reber’s followup story Love Unrehearsed.

Leave a Reply

