Point of Retreat – Butterflying Beautiful

Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover; Atria Books

Point of Retreat follows Lake & Will and picks up where Slammed left off. I have to say, I loved Slammed. It was so well-written and just all around perfect. So I was very excited to continue by reading Point of Retreat. Equally as wonderful.

In Point of Retreat, it’s been a few months since Lake’s mom, Julia, has passed away and she and Will are still across the street from each other raising their brothers. They seem to have a routine down that makes them an unusual, but loving family. Despite everything thrown their way, they somehow manage to have a relationship that is full of love, and a promise for a great future together. However, as with any story, there are bumps along the way, which threaten to tear them apart, but as they navigate through all of it, their love and devotion to one another get them through.

What I loved about this story is that Hoover does such a wonderful job of telling a story that has meaning and depth. I cared for the characters in this book. I laughed at their wit, I cried at their losses and I celebrated their triumphs. I must say, unlike other books I have read as of late, Hoover has a great use of words which left me thinking, “thank God they didn’t ‘smirk’!”

Point of Retreat is beautifully written and when I completed, I literally jumped out of my seat and did a happy dance! And just now, I discover there is yet another book in the Slammed Series due out in 2013. I will be waiting with baited breath for the finale of this butterflying bemazing series.

Leave a Reply

