Getting Political?

Okay, I honestly had not planned on doing another entry yet, but felt compelled after watching the debate last night. In my opinion, there was no winner. If you care to know what I think about the whole thing, here it goes…

I believe that every person that runs for President, Republicans, Democrats, Independents and anyone else, truly have pure intentions. I believe they want to improve America, and ultimately, uphold the basic principles this amazing country was founded on. I believe that in the sprint to the finish line, they kick up so much dirt and mud that the dirt never really comes off once the dust settles. I believe that, despite good intentions, they are corrupted (in some way or another), because to get your policies passed, you have to concede some “lesser” stances to make things work.

I suppose politics isn’t much difference than a marriage. Marriage is compromise, communication, respect and love. Okay, so maybe the communication and respect do not apply (J/K). Being married for almost 12 years, I have had my share of debates. We both have pure intentions, which is to care for our daughters, raise them how we believe to be best and make sure that our marriage is a top priority. We continually talk about what our goals are for our family, and sometimes, when I believe wholeheartedly that I am right (which is alot), in order to “get my way,” I have to compromise. We each give a little to see to it that things work for the best. We respect each other! Yes, we argue and do not agree on EVERYTHING 100% of the time. BUT, our differences are the reason that my husband and I work so well together. If we were carbon-copies of each other, how boring would life be? Instead, I get to spar with my best friend who challenges me to be a better person.

This country would be boring, and unchanged, if it were not for the political difference we all have. I identify myself as a Republican, however, I do not always agree 100% with everything shoved out there. And sometimes, there are Democratic policies that I think are good. My point is, as a country that is ever-changing, election years bring out the worst in people, not just those running, but friends and family. So:

  • TRY and respect those whose opinions differ from yours.
  • You don’t have to agree, but you can agree to disagree and move forward.
  • Just because someone doesn’t seem as passionate about America as you, doesn’t mean they aren’t, perhaps they just keep it private.
  • If you can’t be “friends” with someone because they don’t feel the same way you do, well, that’s just sad.

I was on Twitter last night reading the posts about the debate and was surprised when a follower of @zachbraff said he couldn’t follow him anymore because he support Obama. I posted a response and was pleasantly surprised that he retweeted, but also got alot of “likes” for the comment. See….melting pot, different people, different beliefs, respect…

Thanks for listening!
Hasta,
-T

@zachbraff responded to my Tweet….so cool! (I’m a dork!)

Leave a Reply

