Hopeless…

Hopeless-Colleen Hoover

Click here to go to Amazon for Hopeless-Colleen Hoover

I have thought over and over what words I would use to describe Hopeless…it’s honestly hard to say, so here are a few that come to mind:

Beautiful 

Devastating 

Heartbreaking 

Real

I don’t want to do this book an injustice by saying that it is merely a “good” book; it is truly amazing. I had the awesome honor of meeting Colleen Hoover during Thanksgiving. (See my silly account of how that went down on another post.) Anyway, we happened to be on the same cruise and I was telling her how much I loved Slammed and Point of Retreat and how my friends loved it as well. We were talking about her new book, Hopeless, which I told her I was very excited about. She allowed me to read the blurb, and somehow, that got us talking even more. I will forever see that chance meeting as a wonderful opportunity because the person behind the wonderful words I have fallen in love with, is equally beautiful. I mean seriously, you would have to be to have so many LOVE what you have written. Beautiful soul!

Hopeless tells the story of Sky, a strong, witty and resilient girl who, after being homeschooled her whole life, will be attending a public school for her senior year. She has a best friend, Six, who has coached her on all things high school. During a chance meeting, Holder, a handsome stranger catches her eye, but Six warns her off. Despite the reputations that each of them carry they are drawn to each other. They are obvious soul mates, looking after one another and bringing out the best in each other. Holder and Sky share a special bond and through the course of their relationship they discover why.

Colleen has an incredible gift in how she can bring her characters to life. These are people you know. I wish Breckin was my best friend…everyone needs someone like him! Slammed has been my favorite book this year, and Will Cooper, the ideal guy. But I do believe Hopeless has stolen that title, and Dean Holder…wow! Holder is not the hero trying to save Sky, he is her partner, beside her. Six, I wish there were more of her, again, I think we all need a Six in our life. And Sky, she’s just so fun to read about; she made me LOL…

I will refrain from saying anymore, because this is one that you just must read. This book broke me. I laughed, I cried and I got angry. Hopeless is amazing, and despite the title, it does give one hope. I could cry all over again from this book. This is not a light read. The subject matter is heavy, but told in such a way that somehow, you don’t want this book to end.

Thank you Colleen, for another wonderful book, and thank you for allowing me in!

One thought on “Hopeless…

Leave a Reply

