So Long 2012…

I don’t know about you, but for me, 2012 has flown past. It’s been full of disappointment, inspiration and hopefully drive, drive to be and do something better.

I have been disappointed by the human nature this year. Whether they have been persons close to me who have disappointed (and they have), or these horrible stories you hear on the news (and they are vile), there is hate, evil and viciousness all around us. When it comes to the ones you personally know, you tend to give people the benefit of the doubt, and when they fall short, it’s hard to overlook. I know I’m not better, I’m sure I fall short in the eyes of those I cherish, that’s tough to swallow. While people have constantly showed their shortcoming, others have stepped up and completely surprised me with their compassion and friendship. These are the ones that I am so grateful for…the ones who matter.

I have been inspired…so so inspired this year! It’s been a while since I have felt this way, and I will ride it while I can!! A friend of mine and I share similar tastes in books, so we have our own little book club, just the two of us. It’s stupid, but fun, and we’re dorks, so we don’t care! I have never read so much in my life, and I love it! It was during my reading binge that I stumbled upon Colleen Hoover’s Slammed series. I fell in love with the books, but it also reignited my desire to write. I have written more in the last 3 months than I have since college, (Does that count?!). I am so grateful to her talent and imagination, because it has truly been an inspiration for me.

My daughter has asked me numerous times this year what her “purpose” on this earth is. That’s a heavy question to face as an adult, and here is my 10-year-old asking, yikes! While she has her life ahead of her to figure it out, I’m at a crossroads in mine where I have to decide what comes next. It’s overwhelming to think of all the possibilities, but the one thing I know for certain, I may fail in trying, but just the trying will be my biggest success going forward.

So I’m excited about 2013. Not excited about my birthday in 10 days…UGH!, but I am excited to see where it takes me. I have an amazingly supportive husband, who quite frankly thinks I can do anything I want to do, so I’ll give it a go. I don’t like “New Years Resolutions,” they just wait to mock you when they are unfulfilled. However…I’m going to set a 2013 “Goal,” or maybe “Goals…” here it goes:

  1. Finally sit down and write my book that I have wanted to write forever. No intention to be published, but to just finally do it.
  2. Volunteer with the elderly. I LOVE old people. They are so full of magic and history, they are link to the past I so want to know about.
  3. Continue working out. It’s so cheesy to say that, but it has cleared my mind of crap, and given me the desire to do more…and even a bit of therapy for me. (sledge hammer to a tire…LOVE!)
  4. FINALLY get on a plane to visit another country. That terrifies me…so not a good flyer! But I need to do it!

So….that’s all I can think of at the moment…on very little sleep. But I figure if I put it out there, then maybe I’m accountable to someone/something other than myself.

BTW….some of my FAVORITE sites of 2012:
Good Reads – Lots of awesome books to read…so many I can’t read enough!
Colleen Hoover – Amazing writer! Witty blog posts! What else do you need?
The Better Man Project – Just…wow…very inspiring!
NWSL – My daughters love soccer, and I love anyone who inspires my girls!

 

Leave a Reply

