Chuggin’ Along…

I can’t believe it’s March, I wish time would slow, just a little.

Everyday, I manage to get a little more done toward achieving my goal. Everyday, I give myself a mental pat on the back. And everyday, I second guess myself. But somehow, I am still pushing myself.

One of my 2013 goals was to write a book. No intention of really doing anything with it. But it’s something that I have always ALWAYS wanted to do. I’ve never had the desire to really be published, hell, I don’t even know if I’m good enough for something like that. But it’s more of a “bucket list” item…“Write a book” Check. I’m actually having alot of fun doing it.

My mom and my sister are extremely creative women. I have always been in awe of what they can come up with. Both were art majors and just ooze awesomeness. I am more like my dad, he’s a perfectionist and skilled in what he loves, which for him was homebuilding. Anyway, I’m like my dad because when I find something I love, I do it and do it well. Very well, actually. SO not trying to toot my own horn, here. But my gift or talent is writing. If I go back and look at old journals, I’m actually surprised by things I have written, even as a teenager.

So for 2013, I decided to jump in and go for it. IF something were to come out of it, great. If not, I’m so completely happy with that too, because, in the end, I will have done something I have always wanted to do. I have slowly started telling people what I have been up to, which terrifies me. I’m afraid of the judgements, questions and doubts that people may have. But to my surprise, the few that I have told have been so supportive. No one more so than my 10 year-old. She has always written short stories that are very descriptive; she has a way with words. But now, she’s starting to write more and more and asks me daily,”How’s your book coming, mom?” Knowing that my daughters think I can do this, makes me feel like a superhero. 🙂

So, if I can see this thing through to completion, I’ll show my girls that you can do anything that you want to do. Like I said, just writing it has been a dream. Making it happen? Well, that’s my new dream.

TA!

~Tonya

Leave a Reply

