With a Little Help from My Friends…

Crazy things!

I started this blog post yesterday, thinking about everything that’s happened in the last 4 weeks. Scratch that, everything that has happened in the last five months. I was writing about friends, and how amazing people are. Well, here…. this I what I had started (sorry, it’s a rambling mess):

Friends come in all shapes, sizes, background and distances. I have some amazing people in my life and I feel incredibly blessed to have them. I have never been one to seek out friendship, I prefer it come organically.

I’m sure you are asking, “What is with this random train of thought?” Allow me to explain….

There are few people who know me as well as some of my closest friends, and even fewer who know me as well as my family. I do believe that my husband knows me (good and bad…and there’sย a lot!)ย  better than almost anyone…which is nice, since I plan on keeping him around forever. Admittedly, there were only a few people who knew I was writing a book. I had my own little cheering section behind me – words, title and synopsis, unseen. They were simply excited to see me do something I always wanted to do.

Jeez, I still haven’t gotten to the point….

I love each and every one of those people who were so inspiring. Super awesome people!

In the last 4 weeks, I have had the pleasure of meeting some other equally awesome people, and by “meeting” them, I mean chatting, emailing, texting. These are other writers and readers. Some have read my book and have encouraged me on. Others haven’t read, but understand the anxiety, excitement and time that goes into the writing. I get to share pieces of myself with people I have never met in person, and there is something pretty cool about that. My newest friend, is a fellow writer Kimberly Stedronsky. OMG….so happy to be able to chat with this chick! She has more experience in the writing world than I do, but she shares the same fears and enthusiasm as me.

This is where I left off for the day. Then, the strangest (awesome) thing happened…writer, Madeline Sheehan, saw a need to create a space by writers/for writers. A place to cheer, commiserate and rally…and just listen to each other. Kimberly send me the invite and I’m so glad she did! ( ๐Ÿ˜‰ Nice looking out chica!) It’s a relief to know that you are not the only one(s) who are terrified to put yourself out there. I know that’s a “duh” comment, but seriously, we are talking seasoned pros with numerous titles to their name, who still get nervous! I stayed up WAY longer than I should have just reading, laughing and thinking about everything that people said. (I think my eyes are puffy today.)

So I guess, in the end, my point was this: If there is something you want to do, do it. The unknown is scary and exciting, but you’ll never know you can do it if you never try. And if you’re lucky, you’ll have people standing beside you, who love you, pushing you forward to help you succeed. And maybe, just maybe you’ll make some wonderful friends/mentors along the way who can show you the ropes.

Hasta!
~T

๐Ÿ˜Ž Guess you can tell what I was listening to when I wrote this. I feel like I should be singing in a bar with a bunch of friends. (The Beetles) โค

Leave a Reply

