Pride & Joy…

Thank you! <—— Those two simple words don’t seem to be enough, but they are exactly what I want to say.

Celebratory wine from my friend Slim!

Celebratory wine from my friend Slim!

Have I hit a best seller’s list? Nope.

Have I completed my 2 WIPs? Nah.

Does everyone love my book? Heck no!

So, why do these 2 words fit right now?

This journey, this incredible experience, of writing and publishing my own book has opened me up to so many things. I’ve had to put myself out there, and risk people hating, and/or tearing my baby apart. I’ve had to ask people to read my book, in hopes that maybe they like it, and will tell others. And I’ve had the internal struggles of self-doubt…maybe I’m not good enough. My experience is not unlike the other thousands of writers out there, I know this, because they are my friends, and without them sharing their own fears, triumphs and concerns, I think I would be a mess! I love my WFDs!

But here’s the thing…this whole thing is freakin’ awesome! It’s a roller coaster, and I don’t want off! One day, it’s so quiet, I could hear a pin drop. Then there are days like Monday, that leave my head spinning, in the best way possible!

Falling in Fall’s, Lo, read and reviewed Being There and wrote up a review that I am still high from. I love my book, I’m not even going to lie, but knowing that others out there, not only like it, but are telling others about it, is crazy. Then, my shock increases because, other bloggers, that I have not been in contact with, are reading and reviewing my book. There are so many amazing books, and they are reading mine?!?

I was blissfully enjoying a family day when I get a text that consisted of a screen shot, followed by:

YAY!!!!

Needless to say, I had to see what this was about, only to discover that I had received a fabulous review from Back Off My Books. I probably looked like an idiot jumping around with a goofy smile plastered on my face the rest of the day. I would even go so far as to say the smile was on my face while I slept.

And I have to say something about writers, as a whole. As a fan, I have had the pleasure of meeting Colleen Hoover (See my post from Nov…total fangirl moment) and Molly McAdams. These woman are so nice and approachable, and as a fan, these two solidified their place in my heart as wonderful people! As a writer, I am even more amazed by the writers I have “met” online. My short experience has left me in awe, because these are the very successful, mildly successful and newbies. These incredible people lift you up, encourage you, they share your pain and celebrate your victories. You really can’t ask for anything more.

I hope you were able to enjoy this Labor Day weekend. I know for me, it’s one that I won’t soon forget. I need to get back to writing. I can’t tell you the name of Book 2, but I’ll tell you, it is a love story, and the characters are worming their way into my daily life, which means my sleep is going to be crap soon! 😉 (Worth it!!)

XO
~T

8) Pride & Joy – Stevie Ray Vaughn….Uh, yes please!! All day long!

Leave a Reply

