AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT – Brittainy C. Cherry

Brittainy C. Cherry

Brittainy C. Cherry

Today I decided that once a week I am going to spotlight fellow writer because, let’s face it, we are in this together. I have met some amazing people/writers/friends and we celebrate and commiserate, just like everyone else. I’m so excited to do this, because I’m a fan of these WFDs and I hope to someday read AT LEAST one book written by each of them 🙂

So here we go, my first spotlight is the beautiful and talented Brittainy C. Cherry. The Space in between is her debut novel, read on to learn more!

The Space in Between – Synopsis:

***WARNING: The following story contains mature themes, strong language, and sexual situations. It is intended for readers 18+ older.

She’s scarred by her past.

ANDREA EVANS is traumatized and guilt-ridden by the death of her fiancée. Tired of the gossiping small town, she travels to New York City to pursue her dream of dance.

He’s uncertain of his future.

COOPER DAVIDSON is a famous photographer and reality television star trying to flee from his own life filled with paparazzi, mental health clinics, and a cheating wife who is pregnant.

When Andrea and Cooper’s paths cross, they realize how damaged and in need of escapism they both are. The two create an arrangement to explore the space in between chaos and order with one another. The rules are simple—no emotional connections, no talking about the past, no speaking of the future, and when one finds order, the other walks away.

All is well until Cooper accidentally falls in love with Andrea.

Get to know…

Brittainy C. Cherry

Brittainy C. Cherry

  1. So, The Space in Between is your first book? How long did it take for you to write and publish it? Yup! My first baby! I wrote it in two months, had it edited for a month or so, and published two months later! So a good five months! It seemed so much longer though! Haha!
  2. Have you always wanted to be an author? I always wanted to entertain, I knew that much. And I’ve been writing since I was about fourteen. I am also an actress, and love being able to tell a story to a group of people, be it on stage or in a novel. So being an author has been one of my top two dreams, along with film!
  3. Did you self-publish or go the traditional route? Why or why not? Self-publish. I didn’t want to go down the road of finding an agent, getting rejected, and so on and so forth. I didn’t want to give them a chance to break my spirit before my story even had a chance! I thought ‘if not now, then when?’ and I dived right into the world of self-publishing and I love it!
  4. What do you consider the hardest part of writing? “Show don’t tell, show don’t tell, SHOW DON’T TELL!” haha!
  5. Can you relate, personally, to your story? Yeah, I think there’s a little bit of me in each character. The way they react to situations. Even the villains are close to my heart because it makes me wonder ‘what made you so terrible? Why are you broken?’ and once I answer those two questions, it’s easier to relate to them. Also, I relate to the story in the way that I’ve been in the space between chaos and order, just trying to find a way through the dark hallways of life to get to the glimpse of light at the end of the tunnel. I think a lot of people can relate to that.
  6. People who know me, say that certain parts are “so you.” When creating your characters, how much of them are based on parts of you? A lot of my friends say I’m goofy and sassy like one of the side characters Ladasha…but I think that’s mainly it.
  7. What is your favorite part of creating a story? My FAVORITE part of creating a story is thinking that I know where the story is leading and then out of nowhere it turns into something completely different. The surprise is always exciting!
  8. Your book is receiving great reviews, (congratulations!) do you read them? If you do, how do you handle negative reviews? Ha, thank you! Well, the negative ones sting, and I would be lying if I said that they didn’t but, I grow from them. Many just say it wasn’t their cup of tea, and so be it. That’s fine, hell, I don’t like green tea but I love black tea! So I just move on. (On the bad BAD reviews, I drink a glass of wine…lol)
  9. Who would you consider your inspiration personally? Professionally? Personally? My mom. She has been pushing me since I was a child, telling me that I was good enough. I can never thank her enough. Professionally? All of the authors who are just out there doing it—making a life doing what they love. They inspire me daily.
  10. What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment? Hitting Publish. Just diving in this big ocean and taking that leap of faith. It’s scary in all the right ways.
  11. If someone asked for your advice about writing a book, what would it be? Keep going. Finish it. There are so many amazing stories left untold because people stop and enter the ‘this is terrible’ phase. We ALL do it! So push yourself through that part and finish your story. You’ll be so glad that you did!
  12. Do you have a favorite author? Colleen Hoover makes me cry like a dork. Sooo talented! I love her work!
  13. What are you reading right now? The Fault in Our Stars By John Green (cries in a corner) Perfection.
  14. Are you working on another book now? If so, when do you hope to publish? I am! It’s a spin-off called The Space Left Behind. I’m hoping for the end of this year, we’ll see! Fingers crossed!
  15. If you could say anything to your readers, what would you say? Thank you for taking the time to give this new author a shot. Your love, support, and belief in me have been my strength each morning and every night. I am filled with gratitude. Thank you and much love your way!

Brittainy, you are amazing and I love the honestly in your answers. I wish you nothing but the most amazing success and happiness. Thank you for answering my questions and I can’t wait to read your book!!

XO
~T.K.

To learn more about Brittainy check her out:  Twitter, Facebook, Website

8 thoughts on “AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT – Brittainy C. Cherry

  1. Pingback: R4R Review: The Grove of the Sun | A World of Books

Leave a Reply

