Author Spotlight, WFDs, WFFDs, Writing

AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT – Kimberly Stedronsky

I have to say, I am so very excited to spotlight my friend and wifey, Kim! She is the author of the amazing Roam Series novels, which include: Roam, Fall, Rise, Rush, Rule, Reign and West (a novella). Up to this point, I have read the first three and I absolutely LOVE them. Kim has a beautiful writing style and a very creative imagination, both of which keep me reading. So here we go…

Synopsis for the book that started it all: ROAM!! 🙂

Roam (Book #1)
Roam (Book #1)

Roam Camden is a bright girl in small town Ohio, eager to graduate high school and pursue her dreams of teaching history. Her well-planned path includes Logan, her life-long best friend… and now boyfriend. 

On the first day of her senior year she meets the new history teacher, West Perry, and senses that there is something deep within her soul that remembers him… and a life they once shared.

Roam quickly learns that her fate is not as simple as she once believed. She has spent six lifetimes, as far back as the fifteenth century to as recently as the 1970s, struggling to survive a prophecy that has forsaken her… and the man that she has loved throughout time. 

Evil is near, and now, in their last life together, West must protect Roam for the last time, save their unborn child… and in turn, save our world.

Violence/ 17+ Sexual Situations/ Mild Profanity

Get to know…

Kimberly Stedronsky
Kimberly Stedronsky

I’m so glad that you agreed to answer some questions for my Author Spotlight. I know that you are busy raising a family and working, not to mention, writing. So, THANK YOU!

  1. Did you always want to be a writer?  I really have. My Barbies used to go through the most dramatic trials. Jem and Ken were totally having an affair behind Barbie’s back, until Skipper (that little snitch) ratted them out. Eventually I just transferred their drama to paper. I wrote all through high-school and college, but went through a ten year chunk of writer’s block when my daughter was born. The idea for Roam came to me one day last year, and that was it. Writer’s block over. Now I can’t stop!
  2. You self-published your first book, Roam, a year ago. What was it like when you first published? Did you ever want to go the traditional route? I read through the pros and cons of traditional publishing versus self-publishing, and ultimately decided I wanted complete control over my work (for now.) That also meant learning a LOT by trial and error, but it was a good experience. I was really had such little exposure to the indie author world, and I hit PUBLISH all giddy and stupidly naïve. Thanks to some fantastic readers and reviewers, though, those first months of being published were just amazing. I’m very grateful!
  3. What do you consider the hardest part of writing? What is your favorite part? For me, the absolute hardest part of writing is needing to write, but not having the time. My favorite part is the story! Imagination is limitless (okay that was corny) but really, anything is possible. I love to make the impossible real by supporting it with factual evidence. Um… so… fiction. That was lame. Wow lol
  4. As you know, I am a HUGE fan of your books. When you wrote Roam, was it always your intention to turn it into a series? Thank you!! Yes, I’d always intended for Roam to be a series. I knew it would take at least 6-7 books to fully tell the story. I knew the overall plot from the beginning. I am a huge fan of family sagas and series, and building characters to their fullest potential.
  5. The Roam series has many geographic and historical references, along with the fantasy part. I loved the way you melded them together. Did you like history growing up? Are these references an extension of that? I loved history because it was filled with the seediest stories imaginable. I was horrible at memorizing dates and names, but the stories I’d never forget. More than anything, the idea of past lives and reincarnation intrigued me. I wanted to write a smart fantasy that would combine elements of geography and history with magic and imagination.
  6. I’ve heard readers refer to West as the “ideal” leading man. What is about him that you think appeals to your readers? One thing I’ve learned about West Perry… readers are fiercely loyal to this man! Apart from being an incredibly hot immortal (that helps) he is also flawed… he doesn’t succeed at everything, but he fights to the death for Roam. He also treats her with respect, which makes him attractive to most women on a relatable level.
  7. I loved the names of the characters in your book. West and Roam, especially! Where did you come up with the names? Kind of a funny story… the town bordering mine is Perry, and every morning I drive to work and get stuck at the same stop light in West Perry. Most of the names in Roam are places in Ohio (Logan, Morgan, Roam -spelled Rome-, Troy, Camden…) I need to show my Ohio some love! Roam, of course, is my favorite B52’s song. 
  8. Is there any part of your books that you can personally relate to? Do any of the characters have traits that are you?  I can definitely relate to Roam’s innocence and early maturity, and her relationship with an older man (my own husband is almost ten years older than I am, and I met him with I was eighteen.) I didn’t have any hot teachers like Mr. Perry though. I probably would have had way better attendance in high school, lol. I’m also embarrassingly impulsive, like Eva. Everyone loves that above me 🙂
  9. When your readers contact you about your books, what do they say? I absolutely love my readers. They are phenomenal, intelligent people, and I’ve made some great friends through my writing. They write to me to let me know how much they enjoyed the series and that I am a wonderful writer. That compliment makes me tear up every time. 
  10. The series ended with Reign, but I know that you have another book due in October. Eighth Note is your newest novel, what can you tell us about this book?  Eighth Note (Fire Ballad One) is a spin-off of the Roam Series. This is a stand-alone PNR/Horror featuring Eva, Will, and Cole from the Roam Series.Eva has a very popular music blog called Fire Ballad, and Cole enlists her help in solving the strange death of a famous pop star, Nina Fayette. The surveillance videos of her suicide lead them to the Catskills in New York, and then to the studio where she died. The last song that she recorded begins to leak into the media, and everyone who listens is sentenced to a horrifying death.As an immortal filled with magic, Eva feels that she can stop the gruesome suicides by taking on the evil herself.This series, unlike the Roam Series, is heavily paranormal/ horror. Which I love. A whole lot.
  11. Who would you consider your inspiration personally? Professionally? My personal inspiration- that’s a hard one. I don’t know what I’d do without my incredibly supportive family and friends. Music inspires me mostly. Professionally, I grew up being inspired by the incredible stories of Stephen King, Judith McNaught, and VC Andrews before she passed away. Lately, I’ve discovered some new, amazing writers in our indie author community, and my TBR list is overflowing. I adore movies, of course. Feels trite saying it, but it’s true.
  12. What do your kids and husband think about your writing? Have they read your books? My husband, Brian, is so supportive. He’s an avid reader, like me. He’s also SUPER sarcastic, tactless, and brutally honest. Did I mention he’s a Marine vet? And a stand-up comedian? **long low whistle** yeah, not the best audience as your first critic. I had no idea what to expect when he began reading Roam. A few chapters in, he turned to me and said, “Holy shit, Kimee, I can’t believe you wrote this. I keep reading and forgetting that it’s you!”Best compliment I ever got. Ever.My children are proud of me, and I let my oldest daughter (she’s 14) read Roam, Fall, and Rise. She loved them, which of course made me proud. I did not let her read Rush, Rule, or Reign yet, and absolutely not West, the novelette. Dear God, no.  No, no, no. LOL
  13. What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment? My biggest accomplishment would be motherhood, and it’s still a work in progress. Not my job, or my books, or my Early Childhood Education degree, etc. Creating tiny humans that grow to be nice adult humans is hard work, and I’m determined to make sure they make the world better… at least to everyone’s lives they touch.
  14. If someone asked for your advice about writing a book, what would it be? Do it. Who cares who likes it or who doesn’t. Who cares if it’s about Mary Sue who falls in insta-love with Neanderthal caveman rockstar. Who cares. Entertain. Amuse. Shock. Invoke emotion. Who cares if you are a bestseller, or not, or make lists, or don’t, or see your book in stores… or just in your own child’s hands? In the grand scheme of things, do what you love, and maybe leave behind a few stories that touched someone in this short, beautiful life. (I’m usually not that profound. Rare moment of wisdom.)
  15. Do you have a favorite author? I have so many depending on genre and my mood. Have you read Mo Willems?? His books are hilarious! That darn pigeon, lol!             
  16. Are you reading anything right now? I just finished Beats (Kendall Grey) which just rocked. I love all her books. I’m patiently dying for Madeline Sheehan’s Unattainable, and I am REALLY looking forward to TK Rapp’s next book!! **impatiently taps foot and raises eyebrows expectantly in interviewer’s general direction**
  17. If you could say anything to your readers, what would you say? I love and respect each of you, and thank you from my soul for the support, kindness, and friendship you’ve given me. Emails, texts, FB messages, calls, reviews… I am forever in your debt for all the goofy smiles you’ve given me, as well as the new level of self-confidence you’d encouraged me to find. I’m so lucky to have each and every one of you!!

Thank you wifey!! You are such a wonderfully creative writer. I have enjoyed the first three books in the Roam series and I can’t wait to read the rest. I’m dying to read them now, but I have to pace myself! Thank you for taking the time to answer these questions. Now get back to writing! 😉

To Learn More About My Friend Kim, Click Any of the Links Below:

FACEBOOK
TWITTER
WEBSITE

5 thoughts on “AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT – Kimberly Stedronsky”

Leave a Reply

