Dreams, Exciting, Girls Night Out, GNO, Ramblings, Thoughts

Hopeless Wanderer

The theme of today’s post is simple:

I LOVE Mumford & Sons!

Lawn at Mumford & Sons
Lawn at Mumford & Sons

The first time I heard of them was when they performed on the Grammy’s with Bob Dylan and The Avett Brothers a few years ago. My mom, sister and I fell in love immediately. So much, in fact, that we had purchased tickets to see Avett when they came to town, but it was rescheduled and we never saw them. 😦 My sister is a major Mumford & Sons fan…so much, that she had tickets to THREE, yes, 3, shows! I was so happy last spring when they added a Houston show, so that I would finally get to see them.

So last night, it happened. After all the waiting, anticipation and high expectations, we FINALLY got to see Mumford & Sons live. What did we think…..

AH-MAY-ZING!!!!!

I have been to numerous concerts ranging from pop (i.e. NKOTB…I’m not ashamed), classic (Van Halen….helz yes!), rock (STP, Bush, Foo Fighters and an endless list) and even Jimmy Buffett (sorry, not sure how to classify that one, LOL). But this was, by far, the BEST show I have ever been to! Those boys (sorry, men), know how to put on a fantastic show!

If you have ever been the Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion in Houston, you know that your place on the lawn can sometimes not be the best. Well, I’m sure that’s true at any outdoor venue. However, my friend and I got there 1 hour before the gates opened, with my kids, and once in, got center stage, edge of the lawn seats. O.M.G….I don’t think I could have asked for better placement. 😉

I have watched Mumford & Sons, The Road to Red Rocks, many times since I have it on my DVR. Watching that made me so excited, but RR is THE venue for artists, so I figured there is no way our show could compare. I was so wrong in that assumption, and I am happy to admit it! They were energetic, fun and awesome showmen. The moment they took the stage, the crowd was on their feet, singing along and dancing to the music. I’m still in a state of shock that I was actually there, because they were that good. And, I couldn’t help but take notice of the lighting, because it was so damn cool! Every song was great, but my two favorites had to be I Will Wait and The Cave because you could hear the audience sing along, and that just gave me chills.

If you ever get the chance to see Mumford & Sons, I cannot say enough about the awesomeness that IS M&S! I will go again and again if given the opportunity. Needless to say, today’s blog title has EVERYTHING to do with how much I loved last night and how grateful I am that I got to be a part of such an epic night! I only wish they had played this song. 🙂

We were awe-struck!
We were awe-struck!

Come back tomorrow for our regularly scheduled blog, not already in progress! 😎

XO
~T

Leave a Reply

