Author Spotlight, Books, Insight, WFDs, WFFDs, Writing

AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT – S. Celi

This week’s author spotlight features none other than Mrs. Sara Celi, author of The Palms & The Undesirable. I recently had a chance to read The Palms and asked Sara if she would mind talking a little about her books and what she has coming up.

Continue reading for the synopsis of: The Undesirable

The Undesirable
The Undesirable

This book is Mature YA/ New Adult. It is recommended for readers 14 and over.

What if everything you knew turned out to be a lie?

Charlotte Walker knows how to live under the rule of The Party. She has managed for 18 years. She helps out her drunken mother and keeps life going at a familiar, steady pace. She doesn’t ask questions, even though she has many of them in her heart.

Fostino Sanchez knows how to live under the rule of The Party, too. For 19 years, he’s worked to be the perfect Party member. He knows what must be done to keep Maxwell Cooper in power, and how to find the The Undesirables that threaten to take away everything that matters.

As the months go by, what matters most to Fostino is Charlotte Walker.

While their love blooms, danger comes to Charlotte and Fostino’s small hometown of Harrison Corners, OH. Threats they never knew existed could take away all that they care about. And just when these two teens think they know what will come next, Charlotte learns the truth about a secret she has long suspected.

What Charlotte finds out changes everything.

EVERYTHING.

THE UNDESIRABLE is Charlotte Walker’s story, from her point of view. It is a thrilling, suspenseful tale of love, curiosity, adversity, and maturity against the backdrop of a futuristic war.

Should Charlotte trust Fostino with what she knows? Can she trust anyone? Will she find it in herself to rise up against terrible odds? What if the ultimate Undesirable is her?

 Get to know…

S. Celi
S. Celi

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer some questions and let people know about you! I am quickly discovering that there are, not only talented, but genuinely wonderful writers who support each other at any given time. It goes without saying, that you, my friend, are one of the good ones!

  1. I haven’t had the chance to read your recently published novel, The Undesirable, yet, but I did just finished reading The Palms. It was a really enjoyable novella! Was this your first book? What do you feel was the hardest part?  The Undesirable was my first book. It was really hard for me to write, because it is such a dark story, but I had those characters and the story in my head for a long time. The Palms was much lighter—a nice break set in my favorite vacation town.
  2. The Palms centers around Trent and Lauren, who run into each other after ten years. What do you feel is the most important “takeaway” of their story?  I think some of the best parts of life are the unexpected moments we have to change our future.
  3. What is your favorite part of creating a story? I love the revision process. I feel like the story really grows during that time!
  4. As we know, there are thousands of self-published authors out there, what do think is the biggest misconception about the industry? That it’s easy to do!
  5. What was it about writing that was intriguing to you? Have you always wanted to write a book? I always knew I would write several books, even as a young child, when all I had was a love of reading. I wrote my first book in college after years of writing short stories. Then I focused almost a decade on journalism before finding my creative voice again.
  6. What do you consider the hardest part of writing? The best?  The hardest part for me is finishing a project. I have to set deadlines or I’ll tinker forever on it! The best part is having a reader take the time to look at my work.
  7. I know that you have received great reviews for both of your books, which is fabulous! How do you handle the rare occasions where you receive a negative review? Do you read them or avoid them? I invite and appreciate all feedback because it helps me to grow. Even the most scathing review has a takeaway that will make my future projects improve.
  8. Who would you consider your inspiration personally? Professionally? Jamie McGuire, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Margaret Mitchell, Colleen Hoover, and Kate Middleton, and Grace Kelly are huge inspirations to me for various reasons.
  9. What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment? I like to think my biggest accomplishment is something I have not yet discovered in my life—that I’m growing each day and on a journey to a better me with each moment.
  10. If someone asked for your advice about writing a book, what would you say?  Be prepared to work, take feedback, and grow with each moment!
  11. Do you have a favorite author, if so, who? How in the world could I choose?
  12. What is your favorite book of all time? Another hard pick! I do, however, read The Great Gatsby every year, so I guess it’s that.
  13. Are you reading anything now? If so, what are you reading right now? I’m  always reading something!  Right now, it’s Such Great Heights by Chris Cole. I love it so far! Go grab it!
  14. Are you working on another book now? If so, do you have a name for it? When do you hope to publish? Right now, Prince Charming is in the edit stages. It has a release date of January 28th. Here is the page for it on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18131040-prince-charming
  15. If you could say anything to your readers, what would you say? Thank you for reading!

Learn More About S. Celi by Clicking on the Links Below:
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
WEBSITE

Leave a Reply

