Don’t You…

…Forget About Me

As of yesterday, I had no clue what I was going to post today, and even thought, maybe I would skip this week.

**DISCLAIMER: After reading today’s post, you might agree, I should have shelved it. 😉

The NEW cover of Being There.

Being There

As most of you know, I published my first novel, Being There, this past July. Before that, over the last year and half, I’ve been reading…quite a bit. Enough to annoy most people, but not as much as some other people I know. (You know who you are.)

Anyhoo, as an avid reader and lover of authors, I disappeared into the stories and had mad-crushes on these fabulous ladies’ brains. (No offense to men, I just haven’t read any book, as of late, by men.) It was easy for me to imagine that the stories they were writing came easily to them, and they worked some sweet magic to make them come alive in my head. Oh yeah, and that they lived a dream life.

Cut to present day…the one where I have written the aforementioned book, and am working on another:

What I assumed is “typical” writer behavior, influence, motivation or style is now completely out the window, because I see things from the other side. BUT, I’m only speaking from my personal experience, and will not assume this is the case for other writers.

You see, I have disappeared, rarely seeing the light of day, except when it is actually necessary. I could quite possibly be a vampire, if I knew anything about being one.

So what does this all mean; what is my point? Well, let me give you a rundown of a “Day in the Life of TK.” Are you ready? Okay, here it goes:

I get up (Thank God!) and get the kids up and out of the house. I rush out to the gym (if I make it) and come home and write. I try to eat some lunch followed by another writing attempt. Kids come home and we rush to do homework before extracurriculars begin. Drop off begins for the sports, only to turn around for pick up. Come home, eat dinner, get kids in bed, followed by a third and final writing attempt, which ends up being mostly Facebook fun. Sprinkle in some texts, the occasional lunch dates, and there you have it. 

So, A Day in the Life of TK; uneventful and yet, so much is left undone. I have to ask…did you notice anything missing here in this list of things I do? Well, if you didn’t I won’t point it out. I pretty much stay home all day, and if I don’t leave the house, guess what….I get to hang in my PJs all day. Not so much bragging about it, because, it’s cool, but only for a short time. I have some writer friends who, along with myself, could very likely form a club where the one thing that doesn’t get taken care of, is ourselves. But then I’d have to add to that that our kids probably do a fair amount complaining, spouses get a little annoyed and don’t get me started on the house.

Ultimately, we take care of all these things, but the one thing neglected is us.

Exhibit A
I walked into my kitchen and it looked like it still contained 3 nights worth of dishes and crap. It was a mess, and that’s putting it mildly. At this point, I realized, okay….I’ve got some things to take care of. Don’t believe me? See Exhibit A

Exhibit A

Exhibit A ~ Before & After

I can’t show you Exhibit B, because, that would be me. OMG…I could use a little more of a schedule in my day in order to actually get some me time in. (Writing doesn’t count, it’s work because I have to use my brain.) I dubbed myself Queen of Procrastination, long ago; so I’ll get around to taking that shower, changing my clothes, coloring my hair and putting on makeup, at some point. In the meantime, I have too many thoughts running in my head that I am desperate to write down.

So there ya have it. A blog post that doesn’t really have anything to do with anything, but it’s my world today. Maybe some of my writer friend will weigh in with their thoughts on this??? And just in case you were wondering, I’m not at all complaining!! I’m doing something that I have wanted to do for so long. This life is truly a dream come true and I wouldn’t trade it. 😉 Thanks for checking in a seeing what random thing I had to say today. And check back tomorrow…another Author Spotlight.

XO
~TK

~Don’t You (Forget About Me) Simple Minds….this just makes me laugh all around! It’s just too fitting 😎

Leave a Reply

