AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT – Michelle Escamilla

Since publishing, I have been able to meet so many amazing people. I don’t think the word “amazing” can be used enough to describe this group. We write different genres, yet we all support and promote each other! What more can you ask for from peers? I love what I have the opportunity to do what I love, because I get to meet people like Michelle.

Synopsis of Torn:

TORN

TORN

Ryleigh is a young woman who has everything she could ever ask for, until one night she runs into her first true love.

She has to figure out does she stay with the man she married or does she give long lost loves a second chance?

Get to know…

Michelle Escamilla

Michelle Escamilla

  1. You published your first book, Torn, this summer. What made you want to tell this particular story? I had an old friend just pop into my life, but nothing like their story. But I just started to write about that and then it snowballed as I wrote, LOL!
  2. What is your process when creating a story? When I start a story, I start out with the characters. I want a story that people can relate to the characters. Then I try to build a story around them.
  3. When you create your characters, are they based on anyone you know? Is there any part of your story that you can relate to personally? That’s funny you ask, I tend to base them on some experiences that I have had. Now, they aren’t exact but I do put some personal ties to each of my characters.
  4. What is your favorite part of creating a story? What is the hardest? My favorite part of creating the story is ACTUALLY creating the story and brainstorming. The hardest part is making it tie together sometimes.
  5. Have you always wanted to be a writer? If not, what did you want to do? I did not. I wanted to be a police officer for the longest time! Funny how I went from one extreme to the other. LOL!
  6. Given the option, would you rather be traditionally published or self-published? Why? Well, I would like a publishing company to recognize me, but I’m loving the idea that *I* published my own book. It gives me a sense of control as well as accomplishment.
  7. Who would you consider your inspiration personally? Professionally? Personally, I’d have to say my friends. I have the best cheerleaders behind me and they inspire me. Professionally, other authors, their writings, their encouragement- I truly am inspired to write because of them.
  8. What would you consider to be your biggest accomplishment? BIGGEST is becoming a mom. Then in second place is writing two books.
  9. What do you feel is the biggest misconception about writing and writers? I’d have to say that we have an “easy” job… writing is actually hard and when you have to EDIT… oh man, don’t get me started on edits… LOL!
  10. If someone came to you and said they were writing a book, asking for your advice, what would you tell them? First I’d say, “YAAY!! That’s awesome!” My advice, totally do it! If you have a story to tell, put it down on paper! Even if you don’t publish it, what an amazing accomplishment to put it all down on paper!
  11. If you had to choose, who would be your top 3 favorite authors? Why? Oh man… just 3? Okay, I have to start with Maya Banks. I LOVE her stories. I know its actually two authors but Christina Lauren- sexy and funny stories. Then I think that I’d pick Sylvia Day, I had the pleasure of meeting her and she was SO sweet but also her stories are great…Okay if I didn’t list indie authors- please to don’t hate, I still love all of you!
  12. Are you reading anything right now? What? No *sniff* I will be though come November haha!
  13. What are you working on right now? I’m finishing up edits on my second book that releases on Halloween!
  14. If you could say anything to your readers, what would you say? I’d say… Thank you SOOOO much for your support! I truly appreciate each and every single one of you.

Learn more about Michelle Escamilla by clicking the link below:

FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

