New Books, PennedCon2014, Teaser, Writing

Tuesday Teaser – Mine to Lose #1

Mine to Lose

Mine to Lose story and teasers Copyright 2013. T.K. Rapp. All Rights Reserved.
Mine to Lose Dream Cast
Mine to Lose Dream Cast

I’m so angry, that my typically modest attire won’t suffice. I hurry to my closet and search for the skimpiest dress in my possession. When I find it, it’s pushed so far in the back that, if I blow on it, dust might actually fly off. I change out of comfy cloths and slip into the sexy purple off the shoulder dress that I haven’t worn since college. It was one of Ryan’s favorites, maybe someone else will like it, too.

I’m looking for trouble.

I look down at my hand and eye the ring, a promise that Ryan made to me. The hurt I feel is greater than my desire to wear something that I’m not sure represents the original promise. The ring has taken up residence on my finger for over a year, so when I take it off, the while line shows the remnants of what once was. There’s a light knock at the door that startles me out of my ring-induced trance, so I finish touching up my makeup before answering. 

I was expecting Joss, so seeing Ryan standing in the threshold surprises me. The look on his face goes from neutral to shock-filled in less than a second, and I beam inside, knowing that he might be pissed.

“What are you doing here?” I ask, annoyed.

“I thought we could talk,” confusion laces his tone.

“I think you said everything you needed to say in your note,” I bite out. “Besides, you told me to call when I’m ready, and well- I’m not ready. In fact, I have plans.” Before I can elaborate, Joss walks in and sees the two of us in a standoff and tries to back away.

“Hey, Joss,” I call to her, from around Ryan in a chipper tone, “I’ll be ready in five.” She nods her head, but looks as though she might not be around in five minutes because she plans to bolt.

XO

~T.K. 

1 thought on “Tuesday Teaser – Mine to Lose #1”

Leave a Reply

