AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT – Stacey Lynn

I love Thursdays! I love them so much because, I get to interview my friends, and post their answers for all of you. Some questions are different, but there are a few that remain for all of them. The answers they offer make me smile, laugh and give me something to think about.

Today, I have the pleasure of spotlighting Stacey Lynn! I love this girl because she’s witty, talented, honest and super nice! She has written books, Just One Song, Don’t Lie to Me, Just One Week and the upcoming Remembering Us. She is one of the few people who has looked at my current WIP to help me out and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate that. The indie world is a great place because of people like Stacey!

Synopsis of Just One Song:

Just One Song

Just One Song

Nicole Parsons had the perfect life, made complete with the suburban home and the proverbial white picket fence. When tragedy struck and she lost the most important people in her life, she turned away from everything she loved before; shutting out every reminder of the perfect life she lost. 

It has been one year, three months, one week and six days since the accident, and Nicole is ready to stop counting the days she’s survived, and begin living again. 

On a dare from her best friend, Nicole encounters Zack Walters – the popular alternative rock star and man who signifies so much of her past – and suddenly everything in Nicole’s safe and quiet life changes. 

When she’s forced to face the pain she’s carried for so long, will she truly be able to heal from her past and begin to live again? 

Or will her new adventure ruin her completely?

Get to know…

Stacey Lynn

Stacey Lynn

  1. You published your first book, Just One Song, in April of this year. What has that experience been like for you? Have you always wanted to write a book? ~ The experience has made me want to vomit, as well as pop open a bottle of champagne and celebrate like a mad woman. I can’t describe all the emotions I’ve gone through this year. It’s just been completely surreal. I have always written. I’ve always kept a journal. I used to write poetry, and random songs and lyrics pop into my head all the time. Up until I sat down to start writing Just One Song, the most I’d written in the last decade was a grocery shopping list.
  2. Your books have received really great reviews. What are your thoughts on reviews? Do you read them? How do you handle negative ones, or do you tend to ignore those? ~ I read every single one. And every single one makes me cry – either happy tears or ugly tears. Some of the negative reviews are really helpful. I don’t think most people set out to right a negative review to hurt the author so I take it in stride and the spirit it’s intended. One of the reviews that makes me laugh the hardest is actually a 2 star review. But it was hilarious, and I can see where she’s coming from. *shrug* To each their own, really. Some people are going to love the stuff I write, some people will spend hours scouring the internet for gif’s to ensure I know how much they hated it.
  3. Are any of your characters based on people in your life? Do you find that there is one character that is based on you? ~ Nicole, in Just One Song, is most like me in her interests and looks, probably. Emma in Don’t Lie To Me is strong. I think if you could combine Emma and her friend, Macy, they’re who I would like to be. Strong, sassy, and could give a crap what anyone says.
  4. Do you have a set method for creating your story, or do you find that every story requires a different means to develop? ~ It’s totally different. On some stories, I see the people before I see their story. With Don’t Lie To Me, I saw the story and had to create the people. With Just One Week, I already knew the characters and had to wait to write it until I could see their story. Some stories are written w/ random scenes at a time, and with others, I always know what’s going to happen next.
  5. What is your favorite part of creating a story? What is the hardest? ~ My favorite part is when I’m so enraptured in the characters that I lose a little bit of grip on reality. Some days, I walk around in a haze while the characters are in my head. I love it when I sit down to write something, and I totally think I know how it’s going to end, only to find my characters totally change it on me. I love not knowing what’s going to happen. The hardest? The times when I can’t see them and they’re not talking to me. I know that sounds crazy. I’m not, I promise 🙂 But sometimes, I want to sit down and get lost in my pretend little world and all I hear is crickets. That’s the hardest.
  6. What are your thoughts on Indie v Traditional publishing? When you wrote your first book, did you query, or decide to self-publish outright? ~ I think both are valuable and both are important. I think the traditional publishing world is starting to take notice of a lot of great new indie authors and it’s amazing to see fellow indie authors have their dreams come true. I self-published Just One Song. I didn’t even consider querying an agent. Mostly, that book was a “bucket list item” and a dare to myself to see if I could write a book. I had no idea anyone would buy it, much less like it. I do currently have a foreign rights agent for a foreign deal that I’m *almost* ready to announce. Querying agents, even knowing I had an interested publisher made me want to vomit. Traditionally published authors have my highest respect for going through that process and facing all that rejection.
  7. What do you feel is the biggest misconception about the current Indie Publishing atmosphere? ~ That we’re all in it to make a buck. It’s offensive to hear people talking about rolling in the money, or what not. I pour my soul into every book I write, and I’m assuming most, if not all, authors do. I cry with my characters, I lose sleep, I freak out right along with them when something horrible happens. Authors write because we HAVE to. Because the stories are so loud inside of us, that we have to get them out.
  8. What do you consider to be your biggest accomplishment professionally? Personally? ~ Professionally? Gosh. Publishing Don’t Lie To Me, probably. It was “easy” to publish the first book when I had no idea what I was doing. The second one came with expectations that I didn’t know I could live up to. When it made the Amazon Bestselling List w/in the first week, I cried. I just never imagined such an amazing response to my books. My husband and I laugh about it all the time. It’s just been …. There’s just no words for it. Mind-boggling? Amazing? Insane? Awesome? They don’t seem like enough. Personally? I have four kids. I had them all within 5 ½ year time span. The fact that we’re all still alive at the end of every day is a miracle. 🙂 Oh! And my husband and I are celebrating our 10 year anniversary tomorrow. That’s pretty special 🙂
  9. If someone came to you and asked your advice about writing a book, what would you tell them? ~ DO IT! Write what you love. Write what you feel. Don’t let your story be stopped by people who think you can’t do it. And when it gets hard….KEEP writing. Every writer hits a wall. And it happens in every story. Just Keep Writing.
  10. Your latest novel, Remembering Us, is due to release in January. I LOVE this story so much, it’s amazing! What can you tell people about it? ~ Gah! No! I hate talking about my books before they’re published. I can never do them justice. Adam and Amy. I love them. She comes from a wealthy family with heavy expectations. He….doesn’t. But he plays soccer and he’s totally hot. And he’s awesome in so many areas. Ack! I feel like I can’t talk about it without spoiling any of it. Lol. Amy wakes up from a coma and slowly, her memories return to her as dreams. But in her dreams she sees a completely different side of Adam than she sees when she’s awake. She grows a ton. She has to figure out how she got to where she is, and if the man who claims to love her is the guy everyone seems to love, or the guy who scares her when she dreams. She has to figure out who she really is. It’s intense. I hope. I don’t know. I’m so glad you love it. I hope everyone loves Adam and Amy. It was so much fun to get into their heads. It will be out January 14th.
  11. What is the best compliment you have received from a fan? ~ Oh my gosh. I got the best compliment just today. Someone has read Don’t Lie To Me THREE times! I laughed…and then I cried. I love reading. I read a book a day almost. For me to re-read a book once, not to mention a third time? It has to be special. I was so amazed by the message. It was a total blessing to me.
  12. Have members of your family read your books? What do they say about them? ~ Yes! My grandma pimps out Just One Song to everyone she meets. She’s awesome. My dad even read them 😕 They’re all incredibly supportive and are amazed as me at the success. I’m incredibly fortunate.
  13. Thirteen is unlucky. Lol
  14. If you had to pick, who would be your three favorite authors? ~
    Ann M. Martin (Babysitters Club. I had every single one and read them w/in a day. It started my love for reading)
    John Grisham (I really have to thank my dad for leaving all of those books laying around all the time)
    Colleen Hoover (because seriously? She’s a genius)
  15. Are you reading anything right now? ~ I read two earlier today 🙂 But nothing at the moment. I might start something soon. I discovered Tiffany Snow’s Kathleen Turner Series the other day. I’ve already all five. They’re so much fun!
  16. If you could say anything to your fans, what would you say? ~
    I have fans? No shit?!
    The very idea that I have fans or readers who love my books is mind-boggling.
    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!
    🙂 I owe them everything. 

Learn more about Stacey Lynn by clicking any of the links below:
FACEBOOK
WEBSITE

Leave a Reply

