Author Spotlight ~ Amalie Silver

I can’t tell you how excited I am about this spotlight! Amalie Silver a.k.a AMY is my dear friend and personal shoulder. There are few people in this community that I can turn to and vent and know that I have a safe haven. I’m happy to consider this woman among those. ❤  She was kind enough to send me an ARC of her novel, Word Play. This story is so much fun to read. Completely different from anything else I’ve read lately. Witty, funny, sexy….what else can I say about it??

I’d rather get the ball rolling!! ❤

Synopsis of Word Play:

Word PlaySmut sells.

Michael Rourke learned this the hard way.

Struggling to make ends meet as a mystery writer, he sold his soul – and his pride – as he pedaled sex and lust writing under the pen name Christoph Strong.

No one knew he was the one behind the steamy stories on the bestsellers lists. And he planned to keep it that way.

Until he met her.

Monica Singer, an infamous blogger, is keen to discover the truth of his secret identity.

During a chance meeting at a book convention, Michael and Monica form an instant connection. And soon, an industry rivalry becomes something else entirely.

But as Michael starts to let his guard down, he doesn’t realize that the person he’s learning to trust may be hiding secrets of her own.

Secrets that could ultimately destroy everything.

**Expected release date: Summer of 2014

Let’s get to know

Amalie Silver

TK: Good morning Amalie!! Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to answer some of my questions! Everyone, this is Amalie Silver, one of my dearest friends. Okay, Amalie, I already know you and about you, but why don’t you introduce yourself and tell the peeps a little about yourself! –

AS: Good morning, Ton! Thanks for having me! Well, my name is Amy, but I write under the name Amalie. I’m a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and an artist. I’ve been writing for a few years now, but sat down to write Word Play in January.

TK: Your debut erotic novel, Word Play, is due out this July. Initial buzz has been really great; I know I enjoyed it. What can you tell us about this book?

AS: Buzz has been insanely wonderful! I never dreamed it would be like this. I consider myself very lucky in today’s market that anyone has even heard of the book. Word Play is a bit hard to categorize in a genre. But from my vantage point, I’d call it erotic-romance mixed with humor/satire. The story revolves around two erotica authors who write under pseudonyms. Through the entire book they’re both trying to figure out who the other is. There are also some laugh out loud moments where the authors, bloggers, and readers of our romance community are mocked. But you don’t necessarily need to be savvy in the industry to understand how or why it could be considered ‘funny.’

TK: I’ve posted here on this blog about Word Play before because of how enjoyable it was. This was an unexpected story to come from anyone, and yet, you tell a story that is full of witty banter, sexy moments and hilarity. Where did the idea for Word Play come?

AS: Well, I’m not much of a reader. So when the initial idea popped into my head, an author friend of mine said it was too similar to a book that had hit the NYT best seller’s list in January. I sat back down to the drawing board and came up with a satire revolving around the same idea, only revamped to create a cynical, grouchy, pissy hero. That’s when Michael was born.

TK: Michael Rourke (a.k.a Christoph Strong) is a struggling mystery author who turns to smut slinging to pay the bills. Turns out he’s really good at it!! Then you have Monica Singer, the ball-busting blogger who seems to have it out for Rourke. Which character do you find is more relatable and why?

AS: Michael’s voice came so easy for me. I think it had more to do with the fact that I was coming to terms with my own admission of writing romance, and actually enjoying it. The first 30K flew out of me within a week or less. Then I got to Monica’s chapters and froze. She was not as easy for me to write. I eventually got into her ‘groove,’ and I think I encorporated a lot of myself into her as well. However, I think I’m more Michael than Lauren.

TK: There is definitely a lot of tongue in cheek when it comes to authors, bloggers, agents and fans – and it’s fantastic! The blog posts made me laugh every time. As a writer, what have you found to be the nicest compliment you have received from any of the aforementioned people?

AS: All compliments are surreal. They make my jaw drop every time. But I’d have to say that up until the hype and excitement over Word Play, it would have to be when I received private messages from readers. Under my real name I’ve written a series about a bipolar man in his mid-twenties, and the woman who tries to do everything in her power to help him through it. I was amazed at the amount of people who contacted me saying that they were in the exact same position as the two characters in the story. And how the words I wrote impacted them forever, and have resinated with them to this day. Those are the most powerful words an author can hear.

TK: Okay, I have to ask, because if I don’t, someone else will: are there any parts of your story based on anyone real in the community?

AS: Of course there are. If you’ve been a part of this community for as long as I have, I don’t need to tell you which ones are which. 😉

TK: Claire plays a wonderfully charming transitional character in Word Play. I know Claire. I love Claire! What does Claire mean to you and why did she find a home in this story?

AS:I’m going to cry!

Dammit, too late.

Claire has been with me since before I published my first novel. We met on authonomy.com (which is a website for aspiring authors where you can post the first few chapters of your book and get honest feedback from other authors). When she agreed to read my chapters, I was thrilled. What I wasn’t so thrilled about was her brutal honesty about my work. That right there, is one feisty woman! And I love her for it.

Claire has been the best friend I could’ve ever asked for on this crazy publishing train. She’s seen me through the best of times, the worst of times, and the absolutely manic times. She’s my backbone.; my strength. She’s the first person I go to when I have big news, and one of the most sincere, honest, and beautiful people I’ve ever met. If I had my way she’d be a character in every book written, because a woman like Claire deserves to be a part of everyone’s story.

TK: Have you always wanted to be a writer? And if so, what made you go for it?

AS: I suppose there was always a part of me that was curious about it. But I failed English classes in high school – namely Modern American Literature. O.o So I never thought it would ever be an attainable dream. But after I’d given birth to my now two year-old daughter, something in me flipped. And I started writing and writing and writing. I chose a story that was very close to my heart and that I’d taken with me every since it was experienced.

TK: What do you think is the hardest part of writing a story?

AS: The fucking synopsis. I will never conquer this beast. Ever.

TK: What do you love most about writing?

AS: Taking qualities of people I know and love, and putting them altogether to form one character.

TK: What do you feel is your biggest accomplishment professionally? Personally?

AS: Professionally: Word Play. No doubt. I love this baby of mine. And personally? My son was diagnosed with autism two years ago, and we’ve aggressively pursued additional schooling and help from the school district. This fall he’ll be entering preschool as a fully-funtioning and independent boy. And it makes my heart swell.

TK: If someone asked your advice about writing, what would you say?

AS: You’ve come to the wrong place, my friend. Not that I wouldn’t be willing to help, but I’ve never gone to school for this, and I am by no means an expert! But my motto is: if you love it, do it.

TK: Alright, and now it’s time for the Lighting Round! You Ready?!

AS: Ah, sure?

TK: Scrabble or Words with Friends:

AS: You must ask? Scrabble. Without a doubt. 😉

TK: Who is you Book Inspiration:

AS: The entire literary community of authors, bloggers, and readers. I wrote this book for the diehards.

TK: Favorite Book: Right now?

AS: A tie. Loving Mr. Daniels and Reclaiming the Sand.

TK: Last Book You Read:

Currently reading A Beautiful Distraction.

TK: Michael or Christoph:

AS: Michael

TK: Wine or Beer:

AS: Beer!

TK: Favorite Book Heroine:

AS: Nina from Odium

TK: Favorite Naughty Word:

AS: motherfucker

TK: Holograms or Misfits: Holograms:

AS: why!??

TK: Last thing – If you could say anything to your readers what would it be?

AS: I’m going to cry again, dammit! You are the reason for every word I type. Keep being you. Keep being awesome.

To keep up with Ms. Silver, go like her pages:

FACEBOOK
GOODREADS
WEBSITE

Leave a Reply

