Author Spotlight ~ Lisa Suzanne

Good morning!! For those early risers, hope you slept well! For everyone else – welcome to the party!! This week, I have another great Author Spotlight to share. Lisa Suzanne and I are a part of a few groups together and she – like so many authors out there – is amazing! Her latest novel, Side Effects comes out next week and the cover alone is enough to grab your attention!! Let’s check out Side Effects:

Synopsis of Side Effects:

10475931_259071490961932_506484553_nShe has been hurt. She has a past of lies, cheating, and pain. She has severe panic attacks when she’s in enclosed spaces, a side effect of a horrible accident caused by a man she thought she loved. Quinn Carpenter has a distinct type: bad boys with dark hair, dark eyes, and tattoos. Tyler, her friend with benefits, fits the bill perfectly. They have fun together and they both know that fun is where their relationship begins and ends.

Quinn’s life is exactly how she wants it until she meets Reed Porter, the typical pretty boy with blue eyes, blonde hair, and zero tattoos. He is the exact opposite of everything Quinn likes.

So why can’t she get the frustrating, preppy, blue-eyed Reed out of her head?

She isn’t interested in commitment. She doesn’t want a relationship. But Reed challenges her, he puts her in her place, and he makes her nervous. The confident Quinn is never nervous around men, so what is it about Reed that has her questioning everything? And what will be the side effects of attempting to juggle two men at the same time?

 

Let’s get to know

Lisa Suzanne:

T – Lisa!! Thank you so much for taking part in my author spotlight. It’s great to have you here!! We are both members of a couple of groups that are awesome. I know of your work for sharing through these groups, although I have not yet gotten to read you work. So, let’s start off with an introduction. Tell us about yourself.

L: Hi TK! I love our groups, too! I’m in the same boat as you – I’ve heard awesome things about you, but I haven’t had the chance to read your work yet, either.

I currently have four novels published (The HE FEELS TRILOGY and the standalone novel SEPARATION ANXIETY), and I’m about to hit publish on my fifth (SIDE EFFECTS) on June 24. I am married to a supportive, wonderful man and we have a gorgeous yellow lab. I teach high school English full time, and I also teach part time for a community college.

T – I know that you have several books out, the latest one releasing last month. Since we are spotlighting “Since He Really Feels,” what can you tell us about this series and this book – in particular?

L: This series follows Julianne, Nick, and Travis. Julianne is in love with her boss, but there’s a strict “No Dating” clause at their company. Travis is Julianne’s best friend, and in the first book we find out that Travis has feelings for her that go much deeper than friendship. The second book is from Travis’s point of view, and the third book – Since He Really Feels – switches POVs. Julianne has to choose between her past and present, and there’s lots of drama and emotion in this triangle!

T – I notice that SHRF released on your 1 year Bookiversary – congratulations! What do you feel has changed since you published one year ago?

L: Thank you! Wow… SO MUCH has changed both personally and in the self-publishing world. This was probably one of the most educational years of my life. I hit the “Publish” button last year as an experiment at my husband’s encouragement, and I had no idea how writing would completely take over every spare moment of my life. I have always loved to write and always dreamed of publishing, but I was very shy when it came to sharing my work with others. I finally decided just to take the risk and do it, and I have never once regretted trying it. There are so many more people trying it now than there were a year ago, and that’s one of the major changes. It’s easy for indie authors to get lost in the midst of all of the other indie authors, so I spend a TON of my time marketing.

T – Are you working on something else right now? What can you tell us about it? 

L: I have several projects in the works, but right this very moment I’m focusing on my next standalone. It’s based on a character in SIDE EFFECTS. I decided to write standalones that link characters, so even though their story may be over, you still get to see them make appearances in future novels. I don’t have a title for my newest project yet, but I’m toying with a few ideas. I have the whole story in my head and I’ve been trying to write as much as I can to get it out!

T – What do you find to be the hardest part of writing?

L: I’m usually on Facebook talking to readers and other authors or marketing my books… so turning off Facebook long enough to focus on my work in progress is my biggest challenge!

T – What is your favorite part or writing?

L: I love when I get lost in the story I’m writing and my fingers fly over the keyboard like they can’t keep up with my brain.

T – You have some really great reviews of all of your books. Brag a little 🙂 – what is the best compliment you have received?

L: Wow! Thank you! That’s so sweet! I actually received a message this morning from someone on Goodreads who said the most beautiful things that made me cry. She started her message with, “I’m honestly amazed with you.” I also had several people contact me after reading SEPARATION ANXIETY. They told me that they were going through something similar to the main character and that my book gave them hope. It humbles me and it is such an honor to be able to do what I love and inspire people through that, so I would have to say that when people message me to tell me how much they connected with my books, that is the best compliment I can get. Oh, and when my hubby beta reads my books and tells me how hot a scene was. I love that. 😉

T – All right, let’s talk marketing. We both know that getting in front of a wide audience can be tough, what have you found to be your biggest tool in marketing your books?

L: I probably use Facebook the most for marketing, but that’s one of those things that has gone through a ton of changes in the past year. It has become an unreliable resource. I think the best tool is word of mouth. I try to spread out my social media and I try to be available to people who want to chat, and I’m always looking for new ways to reach new readers.

T – Five years down the road, what is your goal for your writing? Publishing deal? Agent? Movies?

L: Great question! I just want to keep writing. I know for sure that I was meant to be an author. If publishers and agents and movies are meant to be part of that, it would be a pretty amazing path to take.

T – Have you always wanted to be a writer?

L: I have always written. I wasn’t always sure that I was going to publish just because I was very shy in sharing my work with others. But the very first person who read my book aside from my husband was a reader who discovered my first book on Amazon. She rated it five stars, and that was the moment when I got over my shyness.

T – If you weren’t writing, what would you be doing?

L: I also work as a full time teacher, so if I wasn’t writing, I’d probably be sleeping!

T – Who is your biggest inspiration personally and professionally?

L: Personally, I would have to say my husband. He’s my swoon worthy book husband and prince charming. I’m a lucky, lucky girl. Professionally, it’s hard to name just one. I have become friends with so many authors through different groups I’m in (like the one where I met you!), and I love watching the successes of those around me. So I guess my indie author friends as a group would be my biggest inspiration.

Lightning Round!!! Are you ready?!? Twitter-sized answers as fast as you can 😉

T – Hot or Cold

L: Hot! (I live in Arizona!)

T – Blonde or Brunette

L: Blonde for me! Brunette for my man!

T – Boxer or Briefs

L: Boxers… or boxer briefs

T – East Coast or West Coast

L: WEST!

T – Real Housewives of ______

L: The Bachelor! (not sure why that’s what came to mind…)

T – Deserted on an island you can only take one book. What is it –

L: Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin

T – Sandler or Samberg –

L: Sandler

T – Favorite cuss word –

L: Fucktard

T – Kiss/Kill/Marry Heroes! (Superman, Spiderman, Batman) –

L: Kiss Batman, Marry Superman, Kill Spiderman

T – Books or Movies

L: Books!

Final question: if you could say anything to your readers, what would you say?

L: I would say thank you to those of you who have read my books, to those of you who have left reviews, and to those of you who have reached out to me with a message. It’s so hard to put my work out there to be judged by the world, but the times when I get a message from a reader telling me that I gave them hope or that they connected with my story… that makes it all worth it!

Thank you so much for participating in my author spotlight. I hope it wasn’t took painful!!

L: Thank you for having me! I enjoyed it and I appreciate you taking the time to spotlight authors like me! XOXO

 Lisa’s book, Side Effects comes out next week! In the meantime, check her out online and all of her other books!!!

Web: http://www.authorlisasuzanne.com
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/AuthorLisaSuzanne
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorLisaSuzanne
Twitter: https://twitter.com/LisaSuzanne24
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/lisasuzanne24
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+LisaSuzanne/posts

Leave a Reply

