To The Reader…

Dear Readers,

Is this thing on? 😉
Where are you? :/

I have had a hard time figuring out who you are – who my audience is. This is something I’ve thought about quite a bit in the last few months and I always come to the same conclusion:

I have NO idea!

When I write, I write because the story and the characters are so alive in my head that I can’t do anything else. I write because I want to share their story – because it’s a movie that is on constant replay. I write because I love it and I hope that others will recognize that in my stories.

***So back to my problem – finding my audience. It’s hard to find readers if you don’t know who to target and how to reach them.

Most of us have a preferred genre – our go to – when we are deciding what to read next. For me, it’s usually YA or NA and it’s hard for me to branch out. I have some amazingly talented friends who write in other genres: paranormal, erotica, horror, mystery – and I find when I take the chance and step out of my comfort zone – I LOVE IT! (More about that next week.)

When we read, we want to escape from our daily duties for a few hours where kids don’t cry, houses don’t need cleaning and dinner isn’t waiting to be prepared. We become that main character who the guy is drooling after. We become that woman who does the things that in real life, we might not have the guts to do. We get lost in their world and hate when the story is over because – hell, what am I supposed to do now?!

We all have expectations out of the books we read. As we should. For me, I look at the cover and the synopsis and decide if I want to read it. However, more often than not, I read a story based on friends telling me “YOU HAVE TO READ THIS!” I expect the writing to be pretty solid and very few errors. (This is not to say that you won’t find errors in my books because – you will – Although I have done my best to catch most, if not all)

Again, back to my “issue,” of finding my audience. 

I feel the need to make a proper introduction at this time and tell you about me and my writing, so here it goes:

My name is TK Rapp, author of Being There, Mine to Lose and the recent release, Mine to Steal and I’m not quite sure WHAT my genre is. I can tell you what it’s not: it’s not paranormal, erotica, horror, mystery. LOL! I can tell you, these are the things that people have said about my books:

 

 

“Sweet”…”Cute”…”Real life”…”Heartache”…”Humor”…”Clean”…”No sex”

This is not meant to sound like bragging, but more of a…disclaimer/warning/advertisement, perhaps? While there isn’t “sex” in the detailed sense, there is “fade-to-black” sex. There are HEAs, but not without a struggle. There are funny moments, because life itself is funny. There is heartbreak and fights because – well, who hasn’t experienced these things?

I love what I do and I’m blessed beyond words that I have the ability to pursue this dream. I write, because I truly can’t imagine doing anything else. Of course, I would LOVE for people to read these books because they are a part of me and mean so much to me. But, if the same ten people kept reading my books and still loved them, I’d be happy even if no one else wanted to read them. And I’d still write – not because I have to or want to, but because I NEED to. Like so many others, I’m in this for the long haul because of my absolute love of the art.

So, wherever you are – you beautiful readers – it’s nice to “meet” you! I hope to see you someday and interact with you in person or online. I hope to finally figure out how it is am I supposed to find you, but if I never do I hope that you find joy in whatever wonderful story you are reading.

XO
~TK ❤
T.K. Rapp

 

Leave a Reply

