Author Spotlight, Writing

Author Spotlight ~ Lia Fairchild

I had to do a count because I wasn’t sure how many author spotlights I’ve done since the first one last September.

22

Twenty-two interviews with bloggers (2) and authors (20) and this week, I add number 23 to the roster! Ms. Lia Fairchild! I’m really excited to spotlight this woman because – as so many others – she is a huge supporter of writers. Whether she’s sharing posts, cheerleading for a fellow author or promoting her own work, she does so with class. She’s a really sweet lady and I’m so excited to have her on this week! Before we get started with the interview, let’s take a look at her latest book.

Synopsis of Circle in the Sand:

10477985_10202138129643774_375394250_nFour Friends. Four Different Paths. One Unwavering Friendship.

Four life-long friends bound by two decades of laughter, love, promises, and secrets. Once inseparable, the four grow into independent adults pursuing very different paths.

Sage, raised by career-driven parents, follows a carefully laid out future of success that leaves her wondering what she’s missed out on.

Emily, the college drop-out, now has three children that have become her whole life. She’s slowly lost herself, subconsciously seeking dangerous ways to cope. Can she find herself in time?

Jax always lived on the edge, skating through life with no apparent ambition, yet remained the energy and emotional cement of the group. She longs for her friends to accept her without trying to fix her.

Ned, Emily’s twin brother, yearns to stand up and be counted. But his old loyalties and new feelings for one of the girls has him pulled in different directions.

Will the ties that held them together as kids be strong enough for them as adults? These four friends will discover the true meaning of friendship and unveil truths about themselves they never knew existed.

Let’s get to know:

Lia Fairchild
Lia Fairchild

T – Hi Lia! I know that you are a busy woman, so let’s get to the introductions! Please tell us something about yourself that most people don’t know.

L – My major in college was advertising because I wanted to be Darren Stevens from Bewitched and come up with advertising campaigns.

T – I’ve done a bit of “eager” stalking to learn more about you. I know that you – uh, never mind. (kidding!!) But seriously, I know that you released your first book, In Search of Lucy, in 2011. How do you feel the Indie publishing world has changed since then? Do you feel you were more intimidated to publish then as opposed to now?

L – I self-published my novel, In Search of Lucy, in February of 2011. I had no idea what I was doing nor did I realize what I was up against. I simply created a story and was proud that I saw it through to the end. Eight months later it was picked up by a publisher. Since then I’ve self-published several more titles. I actually feel more intimidated now. There are so many more books out there now and competition is fierce. The great thing is that authors are feeling more control over their books and how they want them presented.

T – There are so many Bookiversaries and you are one of them. It’s been three years since you first hit publish! Congratulations!!! Including anthologies, you have written 9 stories, that’s amazing. Where do you find inspiration for your books?

L – I’ve always been one to create stories in my head. I do it all the time. Sometimes I’ll look at someone on the street or in a store and just assign them a random story. And I’ve always loved movies and books. So finally being able to put those stories on paper has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I just wish my fingers could type as fast as my brain comes up with the ideas.

T – Your latest book, Circle in the Sand came out early January of this year and your reviews are wonderful! What was it about this story that made you want to write and share it?

L – The funny thing about this story is that I don’t even recall when/how I came up with the main idea. I just remember that the important part of this project was that I wanted multiple points of view. I wanted to be several characters, which meant I had to write each one in first person, including the one male character. Ned was actually one of my favorites to write. I truly felt freedom being in each of their heads and becoming them. I also wanted to try my hand at writing in present tense. I had just finished reading The Hunger Games series and realized I loved the feeling of reading a story that way.

T – I’m torn on reading reviews. I read them, and sometimes kick myself for it. But the ones that make me laugh (good or bad) are the ones I love. So tell me, what is the funniest or strangest review/compliment you have received?

L – When my first book hit the top 10 on Amazon, the reviews poured in and they really ran the whole gamut. I saw everything from readers completely loving it and saying it was their favorite book ever to those that said it was just an okay read. Then there was the one who said the book should be “burned to ashes.” I actually laughed when I read that one. Another review that stands out to me is from my RomCom book, Emma vs. the Tech Guy. The story is funny and has a great surprise twist. So that usually gets people excited to review. One I received was titled, “Lia, I LOVE YOU.” That made me smile.

T – Something I notice about you from my research is that you have actually published in several genres: Romantic Comedy, Contemporary Women, Mystery/Thriller, shorts – which one have you enjoyed most?

L – Yes, I seem to be having an identity crisis. The easiest and most fun to write was Emma vs. the Tech Guy. I also really loved writing Circle in the Sand and feel this book is my best work yet.

T – I know you as a huge promoter of your fellow authors. You pimp, promote, share and befriend so many of us. What about this community pushes you to put yourself out there in this way?

L – I love this question. First, one thing about me is that I want to make others happy. I genuinely care about people. So my promotion and help of others is not purely due to being an author. Second, when I published my first book, I was so lost and confused. I was very lucky to make some incredibly generous author friends who helped me. They not only gave me direction, but gave me tools to continue helping myself. I help anyone I can now to pay that forward and to simply be someone that my friends can rely on.

T – What do you find to be the hardest part of writing?

L – This may sound strange but the hardest part of writing is writing. I have tons of ideas. I can plan whole scenes with dialogue in my head while I go for a walk. But getting it down in writing is a slow process for me.

T – What is your favorite part or writing?

L – My absolute favorite part is surprising readers. Every book I’ve written has surprises in it. Sometimes the entire story is about a surprise twist. Even Circle in the Sand which is more about relationships, love, friends, family, has a few fun surprises.

T – What can you tell us about what you have in the works right now?

L – I just completed a romance novella called “High Maintenance” which will be featured along with nine other novellas in an anthology entitled, “Nighttides.” This is due out in August. In addition, I’ve just begun writing a dark romance (Yes, I know, another genre). I’m stepping outside my comfort zone once again to try my hand at an extremely emotional and angsty story. I hope readers will connect with it.

T – If someone approached you and said they wanted to write, what would you tell them?

L – This happens to me quite often actually. I take the time to share my experience. I tell them what I’ve learned, mistakes I’ve made. Most importantly, I tell them not to rush their story out there. Take the time to make it the best possible story they can do before they put it out for the world to see.

T – I asked this question last week of Lisa and found her answer about Facebook quite telling. So what do you find if your best tool in marketing your books and reaching new readers?

L – I’m an admin for several fanpages. I love talking to people on Facebook, not just about my books, but about life, music, movies, and reading in general. I’ve made a lot of solid connections and when I’m looking to spread the word about a new book or sale, I’ve got a ton of people behind me to help make that happen. I don’t have money for big ads, I don’t have big connections, so friends and readers are who I count on most.

T – Five years down the road, what is your goal for your writing?

L – I’d love to have a romance trilogy out by then. I think it’s the best way to get returning loyal fans. And of course, within that five years, the trilogy will have gained such popularity that a movie deal would have been made and I’d probably be posting on my page from the set. 🙂

T – Have you always wanted to be a writer?

L – No. I’ve always written without knowing I loved it. I know that sounds odd, but I would write poems or little stories without really paying attention to it. As a teenager I wanted to be a dancer. I love dancing and singing. At one point, as I mentioned before, I wanted to be in advertising. I’m all about creativity and art.

T – If you weren’t writing, what would you be doing?

L – I think the coolest job would be to make movie trailers. When I’m in the movie theatre watching those I get so excited – the music, the drama, the voice overs. I’d love to create those.

T – Have any of your family read your books? If so, what do they say? 

L – My mom has read everything, probably just because she’s mom. Some of my other family members have read a few things as well. Honestly, I probably wouldn’t want them to read my romance novella because it’s got some steamy scenes that I’m not used to having them read. 😉

T – Who is your biggest inspiration personally and professionally?

L – These questions are always tough for me. I find inspiration wherever I go most all the time. It could be something as simple as a cloud or tree blowing in the wind, or something as huge as the bravery of a stranger. What drives me most, personally and professionally, is that I want to be the best person I can possibly be in everything I do. And if I can help people and make them happy at the same time, then it’s a win-win for me.

Lightning Round!!! Twitter-sized answers as fast as you can ❤ Ready???

T – Lady Gaga or Katy Perry

L – Wow tough. I’d have to say Katy Perry

T – Facebook or Twitter

L – Facebook. No one talks to me on Twitter

T – Original or Reboot

L – Definitely original

T – Spring or Fall

L – Spring

T – Sitcom or Drama

L – Sitcom. I love to laugh.

T – Deserted on an island you can only take one book. What is it  

L – Seen this question tons of times but never answered it. Honestly I’d probably take the bible even though admittedly I’ve barely read it. If I was by myself, not knowing my fate, it would probably be the best book to have for comfort as well as knowledge.

T – Chris: Evans or Pines

L – If you can believe this, I had to google these names. I pick Evans.

T – Favorite cuss word

L – I definitely use them on a semi-regular basis, but I don’t have a favorite. So I will pick a favorite combo that “Ned” from Circle in the Sand called someone: “Fucktard womanizer”

T – Kiss/Kill/Marry OZ! (Cowardly Lion, Scarecrow, Tin man)

L – Okay, since I obviously wouldn’t want to kill anyone I would have to pick Scarecrow because he doesn’t have a heart and would be the least wounded by my betrayal. I’d kiss the lion to boost his confidence, and I’m marry the Tin Man because I’d obviously be the boss. 

T – Books or Movies

L – My first love was for movies so even though I’m an author and I LOVE books, I’m going to say movies. It’s what I do to veg out when I’m not working on writing, learning, promoting, working part-time, being a wife and mother, and of course reading for both pleasure and work.

T – Last question; what would you like to say to all of your readers?

L – I would like to thank them for reading my books. I would like to say please take a chance if you haven’t heard of me because I would love to entertain and surprise you. 

Thanks, Lia, for taking the time to answer some questions and let us get to know you better! I hope you had a good time! To learn more about Lia and her books, check her out at any of the social media links below!

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/lia.fairchild.author
Amazon Author page http://ow.ly/xmUV0

B&N http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/lia-fairchild
Website www.liafairchild.com
Twitter https://twitter.com/LiaFairchild

1 thought on “Author Spotlight ~ Lia Fairchild”

Leave a Reply

