Author Spotlight, Book Review

Author Spotlight ~ Emily Walker

Consistency people – I LIKE IT!

I have another fun spotlight this week and it’s Emily Walker. Emily is a super sweet author with SEVERAL books to her name. The one we are spotlighting this week has a tittle that caught my attention – totally unique and funny. 🙂 Emily sat down this week to answer some of my weird questions and “hang out” with me online. Let’s check out Why Yellow Jackets Can’t Find the Hole!

Synopsis of Why Yellow Jackets Can’t Find the Hole:


10394579_409690292504202_43199156142536890_nThe Yellow Jackets are a group of young men in their early twenties who have taken a vow of sexual purity. But making a vow and keeping a vow is two different things. Each of them struggle in one way or the other to remain sexually unscathed. Bryant, one of the Jackets, has moved off campus from the all-boys school and finds himself neighbors to a very tantalizing beauty. Only this girl is much more than she seems, and unbeknownst to Bryant, she makes it her mission in life to take his virginity. Bryant and his roommates, in the meantime, are slowly discovering that all of their fellow Yellow Jackets have secrets. Not to mention that there’s a spy in their midst—one who is doing everything he possibly can to expose the fact that the Yellow Jackets are not as ‘pure’ as they all seem. 

Let get to know:

Emily Walker
Emily Walker

T – Emily! It is so great to have you here. I know you are Emily Walker 😉 and you have several books out there! Tell us something that not many people know about you.

E – Thank you so much for having me!

I have a Bachelor’s degree in Hospitality and Tourism and am pursuing my Masters in Human Resources. I have a full time job as an office manager for my alma mater.

T – Your book, Why Yellow Jackets Can’t Find the Hole is about some young guys who have taken a vow of purity. I love this premise! So much you can do with it. The reviews have called it, “entertaining,” “fun,” and “enjoyable.” Where did you come up with the idea?

E – I literally got the idea for the title and the whole book when I saw a yellow jacket go into a hole on the hill outside of my house. It was bizarre.

T – You have several books on the market. Books are like our babies, but I still have to ask, is there one that you favor more?

E – Long Road Full Speed Ahead which is due to come out sometime after re-edits (blarg, I know!) is the one I favor because it was hard as hell to write.

T – What do you think sets your novels apart from others?

E – I feel, and have been told, like I have a very relaxed writing style that is still enjoyable.

T – I notice that you have a couple of collections coming out soon. What else do you have in the works right now?

E – The Kingdom! I am writing a horror story about animals turning on us and it should have been done already. After that I am working on a story called Solo about failed science experiments (living ones). Of course, there are tons of things I am working on that aren’t public yet!

T – Like others, I see that you are a talented lady! Great reviews and you write several different genres. What is it that you like about writing in each one?

E – I love the idea of creating a whole new world so that’s where paranormal grabs me, Horror is a bit different and allows me to dip into a more sinister part of my psyche. Some people might find this disturbing, I find it fascinating. The fantasy is the same as paranormal but in a completely different way. Romance is fun because for the most part there are HEA and you get to escape and fall in love along with your characters.

T – Are there any of your characters that you identify with in some way?

E – I identify with Grace in Long Road. We have all been lost and out of control.

T – What do you find to be the hardest part of writing?

E – Finding the time, I wish I could just write all the time!

T – What is your favorite part or writing?

E – When the story comes to me, and it all just works itself out in my mind and then I can just go with it.

T – What is the best advice you have received from fellow authors?

E – Never stop improving and learning

T – What advice would you give to upcoming authors?

E – Just write, if you have a story in you, get it down on paper. The rest can be figured out later, but without a full novel you just have an idea.

T – Five years down the road, what is your goal for your writing? 

E – I want to have 5 more really good novels, if they are good then I’ll be happy. That doesn’t necessarily mean successful.

T – Have you always wanted to be a writer? 

E – On some level yes, but I just never did it

T – If you weren’t writing, what would you be doing?

E – I have a beauty blog and a youtube channel. I would probably just do that a lot more.

T – Who is your biggest inspiration personally and professionally?

E – I’m inspired by so many people. Rebecca Hamilton was the first indie I read, and I really enjoy talking to her. Claudy Conn is another very helpful author, and there are so many.

Now my favorite part – Lightning Round!!!

(Twitter-sized answers as fast as you can) Here we go….

T – Cats or Dogs

E – dog if I have to choose

T – Reading or Writing

E – writing

T – If you were stranded on an island, what one book would you require

E –  Job A Comedy of Justice

T – Favorite Author

E – Robert Heinlein

T – Anyplace in the world you want to visit

E – Paris would be nice

T – Farthest place you’ve been from home

E – Maryland, Lord that’s sad

T – Drive or Fly 

E – drive, I’ve never flown

T – eBook or Paperback

E – paperback

T – Kiss/Kill/Marry BSB! 😉 (Kevin, Howie, Brian)

E – Kevin, Howie, Brian

T – Favorite book

E – anything Heinlein and so many more

T – Thank you again for taking the time to answer some questions! I hope you had fun! I do have one last question for you…if you could say anything to your readers, what would you say?

E – Thank you so much for having me and to my readers thank you for sharing in my crazy world!

To learn more about Emily Walker and her books, go to any of the links below!

http://www.facebook.com/authoremilywalker

http://www.facebook.com/emilywalkerfans

http://www.twitter.com/authorewalker

Leave a Reply

