Books, Dreams, Exciting, Goal Setting, Insight, Milestones, Price Drop, Thoughts, Writing

1 Year Bookiversary…

Bookiversary?

Pubiversary?

Book Birthday?

What in the hell do you call it????

It seems so strange to me that it was over 1 year ago that I hit the publish button on Being There. What started as a challenge to myself in February of last year, turned into a ride that I don’t want to get off any time soon.

July 1, 2013 – I hit that damn publish button that still freaks me out. I was very secretive about having written a book because the whole thing was intimidating. What if the story sucked? What if people didn’t read it? What if I failed?

Only a few people knew about my writing, and even fewer had read it prior to the release. It was a story that I wanted to tell and when I sat down to work on it – the words came in a flood. It took me 6 weeks to finish the first draft but the first draft wasn’t the greatest. 

A friend read it and suggested many changes which I took to heart. The entire story was revamped, while staying true to the focus – Cass. She is still close to my heart, the first character I wrote. My friends and family have told me there are things about her that resemble me so much. Others who know me well have commented that they heard my voice reading to them (which weirds me out a little). But if I reread it – I can’t help but agree, there is a lot of me in that character.

The final story was vastly different from the outline I had:

  • Cass was originally named Savannah.
  • Drew was originally Zane.  
  • The story was dual POV.

(These are only a few of the changes.)

A good friend, also a writer, read the story and made suggestions that helped it become what it is now. Without his feedback and guidance, I don’t know how it would have been received.

The last year has been an amazing journey filled with new experiences, new friends, new books and new hurdles. I am so grateful for all the support I have received and to those who have taken a chance and read this story and the ones that have come after. Every story is dear to me, but Being There will always have a special place in my heart because it started it all. Drew and Cass are a permanent part of me and I hope that others find them as special as I do.

Thanks for a great year! I ❤ you and hope you’ll stick around to see what comes next. 😉

XO ❤
~T

P.S. If you would like to purchase Being There,
click the link below and get the book that started it all.

BEING THERE

by T.K. Rapp

Leave a Reply

