When I Drink…

Sometimes, you reach that point where you don’t know which way to go.

Right is wrong. 

down
is
up

Happy is sad.

Those times, where you can’t make sense of anything at all can be the darkest, even the scariest. And the “getting through it” part – well, that’s the hardest fight. If giving up isn’t an option, how long are you expected to take a beating before surrender is acceptable? And how long do you keep those around who continue to take and take and take…

and never give back?

If I had the answer to this – perhaps I could follow that up and solve world hunger. 

But alas, there is no easy answer.

No quick fix.

No escape.

Those that we lean on can carry us, or at least help us shoulder the load. And if you’re lucky enough, you make it through the other side with a  few scrapes, maybe a few bruises and minimal scarring. But those scars are beautiful because they remind you that you are a survivor. They remind you that you are stronger than you ever thought possible. They remind you that when go through something again (because you probably will) you can make it through.

I wish I had easy answers for the hurt and pain, but since I don’t, maybe I can offer some advice for those who don’t know how to help.

Be kind
Don’t dismiss the feelings
Be patient
Listen, even when you’ve heard it before
Be loving
Embrace them and their pain
Give until it hurts

You can’t fix anyone, but you sure as hell can show you give a damn by being someone they need you to be – and sometimes that is enough.

And for those going through it at this very moment:

I love you.

I know your pain.

I know your despair.

And I know we can get through it. It might not be when you would like it to happen, but it will. This isn’t forever. Just hang on a little longer.

Unknown

XO
~T ❤

😎 When I Drink by The Avett Brothers – Because….well, it just fits.

Leave a Reply

