Ramblings, Thoughts

Rebel Yell…

If you follow this blog, then you probably know that I write. (Maybe?)

If you have not read my books, you might wonder what genre I write. I always have the hardest time with this one. I wish I didn’t have to categorize my stories, because quite frankly, I don’t know how.

At the Houston signing a couple of weeks ago, I was asked, “What do you write?”

*CRICKETS*

Do I write New Adult? Contemporary Romance? Chick Lit?

New Adult:

The genre itself was coined to capture that time after YA – college and things like that. So if I break it down – my first 2 books fall into this category….BUT I believe my readers would disagree. So, herein lies my dilemma – if I say “New Adult,” there are certain expectations:

  • According to Goodreads – ” New Adult fiction bridges the gap between Young Adult and Adult genres. It typically features protagonists between the ages of 18 and 26.” (Check.)
  • The story focuses on the protagonist’s experience with love, career, changes, etc. (Yep, got that one.)
  • For readers (not always) but there is an presumption of sex, not quite erotica, but definitely some heat. (Um….yeah, not so much.) :/

So then, can I say I write Contemporary Romance?

Contemporary Romance:

For me, when I think “Contemporary Romance,” I think of the books my mom used to read when I was growing up. Flowery covers, swirly letters and heaving – or something like that. Well…..let’s see what I can find about CR:

  • Goodreads says “Romance with a contemporary setting. Contemporary romance is set after World War II.” (Yep, got that part covered)
  • Typically set in the time in which they are written. (Okay, yeah, pretty much.)
  • Usually feature a happy resolution. (Yeah, I think I have that one covered too.)

Do I write Chick Lit?

Chick Lit:

Okay, so when I hear this term, I think “Chick Flick,” and I love to watch these! When I look for descriptions about what Chick Lit entails, this is what I find:

  • Modern women stories that are light and funny. (Not sure if I have much humor, but they are light.)
  • Can contain romance, but the female lead and her overall relationships are the focus. (Yes.)

After all of that, I come back to the same question: What do I write?

Can I say I write New Adult Contemporary Romance Chick Lit? Or maybe, New Contemporary Lit? I had a couple of readers say that my stories are “sweet reads,” which I like. Ultimately, they are about love. They are about finding yourself. They are about growing up. 

Whatever it is I write, I like writing it. It’s fun to watch where these characters go and where they end up. They make me so mad when they’re immature and irrational – but then again, aren’t we all at some point? Hell, I’m 36 and I can still be these moments.

So maybe I need to worry less about the category and focus on the writing because at the end of the day, the writing is the part I love the most.

But then again, I do know where my current story falls! Yep, I’m all “not worried about categories,” but “here’s the next.” 😀 In case you were wondering, my current story is Finding Laila – and it is a YA novel. Inspired by numerous conversations I’ve had with my own girls – Finding Laila is most definitely young adult. If you want to add it to your TBR, click the Goodreads link here —-> Finding Laila

If you stuck around to read this entire thing….well, I kinda love you and think you’re pretty awesome. (Perhaps I should have titled it, “Are You My Genre?”) I’d love to hear your thoughts on genres and if you read a specific one or read anything and everything?

XO ❤
~T 

😎 “Rebel Yell” by Billy Idol was playing when I wrote this. I’m so NOT a rebel, but it made me laugh that this actually played. 

2 thoughts on “Rebel Yell…”

Leave a Reply

