Author Spotlight, Books, Dreams, Exciting, Girls Night Out, GNO, Goal Setting, Insight, Milestones, New Books, PennedCon2014, Ramblings, Signings, Thoughts, Writing

2014 TK Rapp Year in Review

2014 – the Year in Review

2014 has been an absolutely fantastic year! It truly seems to have gone past in a blur and as I sit here, I can’t help but wonder if I missed something. Some parts of it seem to have happened years ago, not just eleven short months ago.

My second book, Mine to Lose, came out and so January started with a bang. I had so much support and love from bloggers, authors and readers and before I knew it, I was working on book #2 in the Mine to Love Series, Mine to Steal. There is another story there – Jett’s – but it’s on the back burner for a little while.

Amidst the book releases, there were the book signings. In February, I attended my first as an author and shared a table with R.S. Grey and sat next to PEN-NNNNNAAAAAYYYY Reid. (I love yelling that at her!) It was a first for all three of us, and I was lucky enough to have dinner with Penny and her assistant, Angie, the night before the signing. I was terribly nervous about meeting her…what if she doesn’t like me? What if she thinks I’m weird? What if I have nothing cool to say? Okay, none of that mattered because we hit it off and I enjoyed her so much.

Then came the Houston Indie Mashup and again I shared a table with R.S. Grey who – by this time – hit the USA Today Best Seller list! I was so excited that I got to congratulate her in person. She, her Lance, my hubs, and a few other writers went out to dinner at a local restaurant. Gabby organized the get together and everyone had a great time. It was a long day filled with smiles, drinks, friends and hugs from Sunshine via Charity. (My Candybabies!)

It was at the Mashup that so much changed with I met Kathryn Falk….THE Kathryn Falk. We started chatting and exchanged phone numbers with plans to talk after the event. And we did. After a visit to her farm, I began working with her and 3 other amazing ladies on her Houston Readers and Writers Roundup – an event that is going to take place in Houston October of next year. (More on this later.)

The pinnacle of the signing year for me came when I attended Penned Con in St. Louis. I signed up for this event a year earlier and I was beyond scared. I mean, I was going to be at an event with the likes of Colleen Hoover, Jasinda Wilder, Abby Glines, Tara Sivec and so many more! Okay, yes, these names terrified me! But what intimidated me even more was meeting the people I had become close with over the last year and a half. People like my wifey, author of the Roam Series – Kimberly Stedronsky, Lisa Karafa of Penny for My Thoughts Book Blog, Word Play author Amalie Silver, Jenn Beach of B.O.M.B., Kahlen Aymes – author of The Remembrance Trilogy. But meeting them all in person felt as if I knew them for years and we hung out like we were old friends. Of course, I got to see PEN-NAAAAYYYY again and flew out with Angie…best flying partner! And I found new friends, too, like the lovely DL Kane, Susan Garwood of Wicked Women Book Blog, Lori Otto – author of the book that has me wrecked in the best possible way – The Emi Lost & Found Series, Simone Chavous – author of the Fate Series Books, Amy Jackson – editor fabuloso and so many more!! The icing on the cake was being joined by my best friend who promoted herself to my Midwest Selling something or another….it was a long title and it fit. 😉 LOL!

There are a few other writers that I got to meet when I attended a pre-signing party in Houston. Hanging out with Stacey Lynn was the HIGHLIGHT….finally getting to meet and hug this woman made me smile. It was here I got to hang with Stacey, her husband, my husband, Erin Noelle, KD Robichaux, Jessica Prince and then I got to meet Jay Crownover…how cool is that?!

This leads us to the fourth book I have coming out – Finding Laila. I started work on it and kept much of it under wraps until it was almost complete. This book is my baby, my heart and soul. I’m so proud of it and can’t wait to release it on January 13. I only hope others love it as much as I do. It’s my first YA novel and I have a feeling it won’t be my last. These characters are a part of me and I can’t wait to share them with you.

Looking ahead at 2015, there is so much I’m excited about:

~Finding Laila
~Book Release Party with Erin Noelle, Sierra Cartwright and KD Robichaux
~HRWR in October
~RT Book Convention in May

And hopefully meeting some of these people:

~Kelsie Leverich
~Claire C. Riley 
~Brittainy C. Cherry
~A. Meredith Walters
~Jean Haus
~Sarahbeth Caplin Stoneburner
~Kirsty-Anne Still

There’s more…I know there is…and I’m going to feel like a jerk for leaving them out. But trust me…I KNOW there is more. And I want to meet every-single-one!

Thank you so much for being a part of my 2014 and I hope you’ll stick around and be part of my 2015 as well. I want to be a part of yours. Happy New Year’s and I wish you so many wonderful things. ❤

Until next year 😉

XO
~T

Leave a Reply

