Meet Laila…

When Laila called and asked me for a favor, the first thing I asked, “What’s in it for me?”

Of course she laughed, as only Lai does, because she knows how much I like attention. She said that she was having a hard time because T.K. Rapp asked her to take over her blog page and tell people about us. Not sure what people want to know, but I do love talking (not so much typing) – so yeah, here I am (and she’s reading over my shoulder…she knows how much I hate that.)

*Ow!* she hit me for that one. It didn’t really hurt and now she’s glaring at me.

Anyway, my name is Cole Cameron, and I’ve known Lai for a long time. We might not have gotten along at first, but now she’s like that annoying little stray you find that won’t go away.

Ha! She missed me that time.

But seriously, Lai moved to Cedar Lane a long time ago and became one of the guys.

Hold on, let me send her away, I can’t do this with her breathing down my neck….

Okay, I can type a little more freely now, as I was saying…when she moved here, we were about five, I guess. I’ve lived here since the day I was born and grew up with Braxton, Joey and Haden. The four of us played together all the time and then she came into the picture. I wasn’t a fan at first, but then she grew on me – like fungus. (Kidding, Lai…because I know she’ll read this later.)

The five of us have always been together and our families get along well, too. Fourth of July picnics, weekend BBQs, Sunday football – you name it, we’re all together. It’s not as creepy as it sounds. Sometimes it would get to be a little too much, but the five of us have always hung out. (Like your favorite pair of worn out boxers.)

So, Lai asked me to tell you a little bit about everyone. I suppose by now, you’ve heard about her “barmy.” (I hate that name, but if I tell her, she’ll only use it more.) She says we’re her boy-army and she did that stupid thing where she smushed it together to get one lazy name. Barmy.

ColeSo let’s start with me. I’m the cool one of the group. Kidding. I’ll say I’m probably the cut-up, the one everyone thinks plays hard and studies less. But I do study…they just don’t see it. I’ve played soccer since I was a kid and I’m pretty good at it – played for the Varsity team since sophomore year. I do all right with the chicks. (Lai hates when I call girls that.) I’m always pushing to get her to set me up with someone, but she’s yet to take me up on that.

HadenMoving on, we have Haden Searle. Haden is definitely the quiet one of the group. It’s a little creepy at times because he’s always watching and waiting. When he does speak, it almost seems as if he’s just woken up because you think he doesn’t notice things, but he does. Haden’s an artist – and damn good at it. His parents put him in art classes when he was a kid because they saw a natural talent in him and he’s been doing it ever since. It’s funny that people are afraid of him because I don’t think I’ve ever seen him hurt a fly.

BraxtonNext, we have Braxton Jameson. If we were a gang, people would assume he’s the leader. Why? I have no idea. Probably because he plays every sport, all the girls want to date him and he’s pretty popular. He’s the oldest and when we were kids, I guess it was Brax who ran the show. But these days, he’s just one of us. He doesn’t let his popularity go to his head, but then again, I don’t think Lai, or the rest of us for that matter, would let it. Brax is a good guy, hell, I’m friends with him for the girls. Kidding, Brax.

JoeyAlright, next is Joey Parker, resident nerd, but good guy. He is a nerd, and he knows it, I’m not being mean when I call him that. Joe will be the next Bill Gates – or someone else wicked smart. He and Lai are probably the closest of all of us. I talk to Lai or text once a day, unless I need something. They talk all the time. When we’re in a group, sometimes it looks they’re having their own conversation, without saying anything at all.

LailaThen there’s the princess of the group. (I called her that because I know she’d hate it.) Laila Nixon. To say that people don’t like her is an understatement. I’m not completely self-absorbed. I’ve seen the way other girls at school look at her, like she’s wearing a scarlet letter or something like that. That sucks for me, because if she had actual girl-friends, maybe she’d have someone to set me up with. Laila is protective of us guys, not that we need it, but I think we like the attention. She’s not like your typical high school girl. She’s pretty, don’t get me wrong, but she’s not hung up on name brands, the latest styles or wearing a lot of makeup. She doesn’t try too hard, and if Lai thinks you’re a good person, you’re in for life. I guess that’s why we’ve always looked after her and want to be there for her.

I know she’s nervous about this story coming out, but she has nothing to worry about. In fact, I read it (but don’t tell Lai.)It was pretty damn good. I’m not much of a reader, especially chick books, but it’s worth the read.

Oh yeah, she also asked me to mention that T.K. Rapp has Finding Laila on preorder for $2.99 and then after it comes out, it’ll be $3.99. I’ll add the link, in case you want to buy it. Let me say this…you’ll want to read it. Hell, you SHOULD read it, because I’M in it. Just sayin’. 😉

Anyway, the book comes out on January 13th – Buy it. Read it. Love it. Review it.

22908032

Click the picture above to PREORDER.

Peace,
Cole

Leave a Reply

