2015, Author Spotlight, Books, Thoughts, Writing

Authorly Love Part 1…

It’s been a loooonnnngggg while since I’ve blogged about anything. I didn’t want to just post something lame, it needed to be worthwhile if I’m going to sit here and write (when I should be working on any one of my 3 books).

This got me to thinking about writing, stories I love, stories I’m working on, and authors.

Authors. Authors I love. Authors I love and why I love them.

So today’s post is exactly that…I want to show authorly love to those who I admire, adore, and appreciate for a variety of reasons. There are so many amazing authors and I know that I can’t list ALL of them. BUT… over the next 3 weeks, I will post about 5 authors and WHY I love them so much. These are special people and are listed in no particular order. 😉

Now..let’s get started with round 1:

Author: Colleen Hoover
Why: Who DOESN’T love this woman? I had the pleasure of meeting her almost 3 years ago when I was on a Thanksgiving cruise with my family. (Odd fangirl moment that freaked her out 🙂 ) Colleen is one of the most down to earth authors out there. She has handled her success with so much grace and humility that she is most definitely an example to others of how it should be done. Every time I’ve seen her, she is the same person – sweet, funny, and smiling. I don’t think there are enough words to say how highly I think of this woman…she’s just super awesome.

Favorite Book(s): All of them. Truly! I fell in love with her because of the Slammed Series and stayed in love because of every book that has followed. Slammed made me want to actually try to write a story of my own. And then of course Hopeless will forever have a special place in my heart.

Author: Molly McAdams
Why: Have you met her??? She’s incredible. In this industry (I suppose like all) it’s VERY easy to encounter ego and people with a superiority complex. Not Molly. She has to be one of the nicest and funniest authors out there. Her laugh is infectious. What I love most is how much she loves her readers. When I met her 2 years ago, she cleared her entire day to hang with me. ME! Why me?! My girls fell in love with her and we spent the afternoon chatting about anything and everything. She is such a sweetheart. ❤

Favorite Book(s): Taking Chances – because like everyone else, I ugly cried so hard. And again with Stealing Harper. (Side note: I think this was a male POV of a story that was so well-done!) I can’t forget From Ashes….I really loved that one.

Author: Kimberly Stedronsky … aka wifey, Kimotherapy, Goose, Romy
Why: Almost 2 years ago, I published Being There. I was stalking Goodreads – because that’s what we do (even when we swear that we’ll stay away) and I messaged another author. I read her blurb for an upcoming book and I was hooked. We began messaging more and more and this past September at Penned Con I finally got to meet her and hug her and hang out…it was perfect! You know, sometimes people don’t meet your IRL expectations, but Goose did. For the last 2 years, she’s been my rock in this crazy author world and I am so blessed to have her.

Favorite Book(s): My first book was Roam. I had to idea what to expect but instantly fell in love with the story, her writing, her creativity. West may still very well be one of my favorite book boyfriends. And then of course there was The Movie Trilogy 0f which 2 are out and I’m eagerly awaiting the 3rd. Kim writes angst and drama so well…and I always want more!

Author: A. Meredith Walters
Why: Have read her books? This woman is freaking amazing! I still have yet to meet her in person, but I am keeping my fingers crossed that it WILL happen. As far as author friends go, you are lucky to have Walters in your life. She is someone that I go to when I need a reality check, a swift kick in the…you know, or just a good laugh. I have so much respect for her because she has been another example of a successful author who has remained incredibly humble and sweet…and she loves her fans. I love knowing that when I need someone to listen, or help me when I’m out of sorts, she’s there.

Favorite Book(s): I first read Bap Rep and loved it. I mean, Jordan….hello!! And then I moved on to Find You in the Dark and Light in the Shadows and her writing drew me in. I love the darkness, but there’s always hope. But I think it was Reclaiming the Sand that solidified her status as a book rock star to me. 😉

Author: Amalie Silver
Why: Amalie is one of my critique partners, and if you haven’t heard, she and I are currently collaborating on a story. This woman has the kindest heart and infectious laugh that are so genuine you can’t help but love her. I was so excited (and nervous) when I finally got to meet her at Penned Con, but there was no need for worry. She is every bit the person you know online. Witty. Sweet. Down to earth. And get her with Amy and you have a par-tay! 😉 In all sincerity, I love Amy, she has been such a great friend and listener.

Favorite Book(s): So, here’s a not-so-secret secret for you…Amalie had a series of books that just went away this week, only they were written by Amy Queau. The Progress Series was one of those reads that pulled me with the first installment and by the time I finished, it took me 2 days to stop my on and off crying. Now, she also has Word Play which was so smart and funny! It is a must read.

Stay tuned for next week for the next 5 on my list….zombies, bikers, hackers, teachers, and soliers….oh my!

XO
~T ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

