2 years…

IMG_4532

July 2, marked 2 years since I published my first book, Being There. If you’ve read my blog before, you know that it was a “bucket list” item that I added when I turned 35. And here I am, two years later with 4 books out. 🙂

These two years have been filled with personal growth and, I hope, professional growth. I’ve made some wonderful friends and learned things along the way. It’s been both challenging and rewarding, but it’s also given me something to do…something I’ve always wanted to do but never thought possible.

So…I thought I’d share some things I’ve learned in the last two years:

  1. Allowing yourself to pursue your dreams is one of the most empowering feelings ever. No matter how outlandish it may seem at the time, why not dream big? If you fall flat on your face, you still tried! So yeah, I continue to dream big…and sometimes fail bigger, but that’s all part of it. I learn something every time, and more importantly, my girls see that I’m at trying. Seeing their pride and interest what I do inspires me. Daily.
  2. Support comes in all forms. It may be your family who have known you your entire life. It may be someone who has recently come into your life. And it may even be someone that you have never met. Don’t underestimate the power of supportive people. First step, believe you can do it, second, letting others believe it with you.
  3. Not everyone is going to love you or the things you do. This is true in every. aspect. of life. And it’s totally okay. And guess what, you’re not going to love everyone. If you can accept this, I believe you will be a much more content person. How exhausting it must be to try to please people all the time. 😛
  4. Be open to criticism. And no, I’m not talking about vicious, hateful words that make you crawl into a corn and rocking yourself as you cry. I’m talking about people who you respect and who respect you. The ones that take the time to care about you and what you’re doing. The ones who see mistakes or where you can better yourself and offer their opinion. This is how your improve as a person and a professional.
  5. Don’t take yourself too seriously. Ever! The moment you do, you’re bound to fall. You have to have a sense of humor. The tagline on my email has been the same for years…and it’s a line from one of my favorite band, Tripping Daisy – “Laugh at what you did today, it’s all been done before.”
  6. Be humble! OMG….PLEASE.BE.HUMBLE! I’ve said numerous times that the people who are successful, but don’t it let go to their head are my heroes. I’ve not had the success of those around me, but I’m so excited for those who have found it. Many of those have far exceeded their own expectations, but they don’t have an air of superiority about them. If I ever find success, those are the ones I would want to emulate. (I’m talking to you Colleen, Molly, and Abbi. I ❤ you so much!) There are others who have forgotten their roots, the people that were with them in the beginning…I don’t ever want to be that.
  7. Remember that you don’t know everything. Wow…I’m serious. I don’t know everything, but I want to learn. A lot of times, it’s hit or miss for me, there is no “formula” that I know of to be successful. What works for one person will not necessarily work for another, but that’s okay, try anyway. Those that are willing to share their experience and knowledge are invaluable. *Note – It’s important to pay it forward. Do unto others…

I’m sure there are more lessons that I’ve learned, but these are the ones that come to mind at the moment. If you’ve gotten this far in this post….you’re kind of awesome. 😉 As school is starting up again soon, I’m excited to continue working on 5 different books that I’ve started. The 3 month hiatus has been just what I needed…the time with the family is priceless.

My point for this entire thing is both a “thank you” and “how did I get here?” post. This journey hasn’t been the easiest, but I can’t imagine any other that would bring so much joy, tears, frustration, and absolute fulfillment. My husband and kids aside, this is the best part of my daily life. ❤

XO
~T

One thought on “2 years…

Leave a Reply

