2015, Ramblings, Shooting, Thoughts, Tragedy

‘Tis the Season…

I don’t want to be a Debbie Downer, especially during the holidays…but man, the world sure seems to be in bad shape. :-/

My news feed on social media it saturated with horrible stories of people gone mad, politicians doing what they do – sling mud, and terrorists doing their damnedest to destroy everyone.

I try to watch enough news to stay informed, but not so much that I’m afraid to live. And some days, that’s really hard.

According to The Washington Post, there have been, 355 mass shootings this year – how crazy is that? Heck, there are only 365 on the calendar, so how’s that for a statistic? Atrocities like those in Charleston (2015), San Bernardino (today), and Aurora (2012) are happening far too often. In fact, it’s becoming so frequent that I have seen many people use the word “desensitized” when news of these horrors are reported. We shouldn’t be desensitized. We should be angry and questioning why it keeps happening.

And then there’s Politics….UGH! You know, I love a good debate. I love learning about candidates and the issues. Hell, I even love that I get to vote. Everyone has an opinion as to who is best for our country, and I respect the differences. I have friends that are republican, democrat, independent, and undecided…and that’s okay. I’m not in the business of trying to change anyone’s views to match my own. Our difference are one of the things that make this country great. But you have the politicians out there, all of them (and I do mean ALL!!) trying to get their ten seconds of air time. And instead of talking about the issues, about the REAL issues and coming up with REAL solutions, there’s nothing but grandstanding and mudslinging. It’s embarrassing. And the sad thing is, as much as I want to believe that SOMEONE can do right by this country, I’m too jaded to actually believe it. Money makes the world go ’round, right?

As for the terrorists, I’m blank. It breaks my heart to see the refugees fleeing for safety, and some of them never finding it. How many lives have been destroyed by the monsters who seek to eradicate anything good, beautiful, and different? The terror and destruction they seek to inflict on their victims is nothing compared to the weakness and fear they, themselves, carry in their hearts. Fear is a powerful feeling, it immobilizes its victims and perpetuates a feeling of helplessness. But the thing is, fear is just a feeling.

I’m not trying to get on a soap box and claim I know any way to remedy what’s happening right now. All I can think to do is pray and hope that a time like Christmas, a season of goodwill, charity, and happiness, will open the hearts of all of us to do something. Perhaps something….one little thing, might have a chain reaction, and if even for just one day, make the world a better place.

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa ~ Happy Holidays my beautiful friends and a wonderful New Year. ❤

mother-teresa-quote-we-cannot-do-great-things-on-this-earth-only-small-things

XO
~T 

Leave a Reply

