2017, Books, Exciting, New Books, New Start, Writing, YA

Under Pressure

When I write, I like to listen to music…who doesn’t? Today is no different.

I have been struggling with 3 different stories, each one pulling me toward it, and I find myself standing still because I don’t know which to give my attention. I am drawn to each of them for a different reason and each requires my full attention. I wish I were one of those writers who can work on three stories at once, but I can’t. As my mom says, I can’t walk and chew gum at the same time. :p 

I think that struggle is finally over. At least I hope.

There is pressure on myself to put something out there, but I don’t want to rush it. Actually, I want to love it. I want my daughters to love it. I want to feel so inspired that I deprive myself of sleep and feel grateful in the morning that I got those words out.

It was about three years ago that I met my characters of Laila’s barmy. I fell in love with that story. I fell in love with the characters.

When it was over, I wasn’t ready to leave them. I don’t think my readers were ready to leave them either, despite the fact that they hated me. It was always supposed to be a standalone, but one night, while my daughter was away at camp, I told her a story and right then and there, I knew there was more to tell.

And one has always nagged me, coming to me in dreams, and sneaking up when I work on something else…and I guess he won. I’ll post a couple of chapters soon on my FB page. This is for you as much as it is for me. And I hope that you still feel as strongly about Laila, Joey, Haden, Cole, and Braxton as you did the first time. ❤ 

XO

~T

Leave a Reply

